Skip to content

Smuggler Tunic

June 7, 2013

I’m feeling pretty meh about this one, a mediocre result almost entirely from the fabric choice. But I wanted to get rid of this stuff that had been in my stash for quite a while (one of those not thinking purchases that left me wondering what to do with it), and I wanted to try this pattern out without ruining fabric that I had feelings for (you all develop emotional relationships with your fabric too right? good, I thought so. There’s no use denying it). Anyways, this isn’t especially my style. I feel kindof hippy or refugee (as in Tom Petty’s “don’t have to live like a refugee!”). Or as Pedro put described it: smuggler. Maybe someday, if I ever get around to it, I’ll try dyeing it.

Look I actually went outside for pictures, again! I had to take Spot along also of course.

Spot loves going outside, and is one of those weird cats that doesn't mind wearing a harness.

Spot loves going outside, and is one of those weird cats that doesn’t mind wearing a harness.

Pattern: Poetry in Motion dress from Twinkle Sews by Wenlan Chia

Pattern Description: This great party dress has a deep front neckline accentuated by a crinkled silk chiffon cowl collar and ruffled edge. The dropped sleeves are a snap to put in.

Scanned from the book

Scanned from the book

Pattern Sizing: 0-16, I was pretty sure there was going to be plenty of ease in the pattern and my measurements were in between sizes 0 and 4 so I decided to go down and use the smallest size. I think it worked out, but only if I’m not layering.

Fabric Used: Some mysterious “linen look” fabric, probably entirely polyester.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for fabric choices

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions seemed pretty vague to me, an intermediate sewist wouldn’t have much trouble deciphering them but the pattern is listed as easy and I’m betting a beginner would have trouble. There are some additional general sewing instruction in the beginning of the book (describing basic techniques) but I didn’t look over them. This book is more about the patterns than teaching how to sew anyways, if you’re after this style then you’ll be happy.

Smuggler (3)

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the loose fit and the sleeves are pretty comfortable. The cowl collar is gianormous and makes you want to fiddle with it but it’s easy to get looking good because it pretty much just flops naturally. I think if I had followed the fabric suggestions and used a really light weight fabric like chiffon it would sit even better.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I cut off 6″ from the bottom to make it a tunic instead of a dress. Now that I’ve made it (and tried it on with the 6″ still intact) I think it would actually be a really cute party dress if made in fancy fabrics.

I cut the cowl collar on the bias, I couldn’t tell if that’s what is intended or not but it looked like the grain lines were diagonal so I just went with it. It certainly didn’t hurt anything and might have actually helped with the drape.

Would you sew it again? Maybe, I think it could be a really cute dress (would have to extend it a couple inches if I wanted to wear it in the day time though) or in a solid color.

IMG_5644

Would you recommend it to others? The sizing seems limited, but this pattern is meant to be loose so fit isn’t too much of an issue. So, yes, if you like this modern, Asian influenced, over sized look. But it’s not everyone’s style I know.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    June 7, 2013 6:10 am

    I think it is cute and I like that you made it, despite the pattern/style not really being “you”. Lighter weight fabric would probly work better, but for smuggler purposes, just right.

    • June 7, 2013 6:27 am

      No, I like the pattern a lot, I don’t like the fabric.

  2. June 7, 2013 8:08 am

    I think it’s cute. I also think if you took off the sleeves and hemmed them at the top part just off your shoulders it might be really cool, perhaps?

    totally understand about the emotional attachment to fabrics 😉

  3. June 7, 2013 9:47 am

    Agreed on the fabric choice bit AND the most cats not liking harnesses thing! It does look like there’s potential for a cute dress in there, so I hope you do try it again. Generally, I find that my cowls drape much better when cut on the bias, so I think that was the right choice.

    Walnut just flops over when we put the harness on him, and there’s no getting him up to walk…

So, what do you think?

