Skip to content

New Vintage Doll Dress

May 31, 2013
by

It’s been a while since I’ve sewn for my dolls, but now I have nothing better to do with my time… So this is a pattern that Anne very kindly gifted me, S2249, a 1930s or 40s era pattern for a little girls dress and matching doll dress reprinted by Quality Vintage Doll Patterns. There were 4 other patterns in the same group, but I haven’t made those yet.

With vintage doll patterns I’m always worried that the finished dress won’t fit my AG dolls because older dolls tend to be skinnier, but this one worked out great. The sleeves were a little tight so I just made the seam allowances smaller. The fit of the back, right at the neckline, is pretty tight though and gaps open, but it’s a doll dress so I don’t care too much as long as it stays on her.

There is some nice seam detailing that is hard to see with the print

There is some nice seam detailing that is hard to see with the print

IMG_5495

Not much else to say here. I think the style is super cute and I need to make more doll clothes because they’re fun and use up scraps.

IMG_5493

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2013 8:27 am

    Looks like a pattern made for Saucy Walker dolls in the early 1950s. I’ve never seen it in so perfect a fabric. Well done! Actually, I’ve never seen it in a fabric I could stand. Mostly it was made up in pastel cotton sateen and looked limp.

  2. May 31, 2013 12:15 pm

    Oh, it’s absolutely adorable. I really must get around to sewing something for one of my dolls one of these days.

  3. May 31, 2013 9:02 pm

    Beautiful blog!

Trackbacks

  1. New Vintage Doll Dress | Toferet's Toy Shelf

So, what do you think?

