Skip to content

Three Tees in a Day

May 27, 2013

Well, that’s got to be a record for me. I’m not a slow sewista, I just usually only sew in brief spurts (like a couple seams at a time), but being unemployed with too much fabric does that to a person. At least these are useful tops that I will wear and they even turned out pretty well. I used B4198 (OOP and not even on the Butterick website anymore. Why can’t they just leave their old patterns up even if they’re gone? Like for an archive) which is a really handy pattern for active wear and basic t-shirts and whatnot. I have only ever tried the t-shirt and tank top patterns, but I’m betting the pants and hoodie are good ones too.

4198

The first t-shirt is recut from an XXL men’s “holiday novelty” t-shirt. I reused the neck and sleeve hems, to reuse the lower hem I just cut it off and sewed it to the bottom of my shirt’s pieces instead of hemming like normal. Because I’m lazy. The only thing wrong with it is I accidentally cut two left sleeves, to the right sleeve is a little funky, but not enough for me to care. I should go back in and cut down the sleeve seam allowance though.

The technicolor tank top turned out pretty well. Instead of folding the neck and arm hole edges down and stitching like the instructions have you do, I cut some 1″ strips from the above refashioned t-shirt to use as binding. Only I forgot about the seam allowance so the neck and arm holes are a little smaller than their supposed to be, not a big deal because it still fits well and looks fine. Also, this knit is super silky feeling. I got it from my mom as a scrap that was just barely big enough to get the tank top pieces out of it.

The last tank top is another men’s t-shirt reconstruction, this time from several of Mr. Husband’s old white undershirts (I have them in abundance). Again I cut 1″ strips from another shirt for binding and this time thought to cut off some seam allowance around the neck and arm holes, but (because the shirts are worn and old, hence the mismatched white colors and some ink stains[that you can’t really see in the pictures, trust me they’re there]) the arm holes stretched out too much. I’ll put it through the wash and see if anything bounces back, and if it really bothers me I can take a wedge out of there. Again, not too worried about it because this was always meant to be a layering tank top and unless I’m not leaving the house I would never wear it on it’s own anyways.

There you have it, three basic/awesome/useful tops in one day, what more could a girl ask for? Oh, maybe that they’re all from scraps and unwanted old clothing! Stash busting like a boss.

~Molly

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 6:26 am

    I like them! It sure looks like a TNT pattern. My fave is the technicolor version, and the contrasting bands are a great idea.

    • May 27, 2013 8:34 am

      Thanks, this is my favorite tshirt pattern – soon I’m going to frankenstein some long sleeves for it!

  2. Bia permalink
    May 27, 2013 6:53 am

    I like them too, esp. the running reindeer. But what a great amount of satisfaction, taking something there wasn’t much use for (old t-shirts, large scraps, etc) and getting something useful! PS it rained all night, and we have > 3 inches!

  3. May 27, 2013 8:23 am

    You rock! Your going to have a new wardrobe in no time!

  4. May 27, 2013 9:00 am

    You have such awesome creativity. I love your re purposing. The technicolor is my favorite too; but they all rock!

  5. September 27, 2013 8:03 pm

    Maybe they heard you? Butterick 4198 shows up on the McCall’s site, OOP and all : )

Trackbacks

  1. All the Rage | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Panel Print | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

