Skip to content

Star Trek Into Darkness Costumes

May 22, 2013
by

I love all things star trek, but the original series remake movie from 2009 left me disappointed. So I went into the new movie not really expecting to be wowed, but it was so much better I think J.J. Abrams has won me over. The costumes were especially awesome, the uniforms kept mostly inline with the original series from the 60s but took it to the next level with sleek space suits and jackets. What really caught my eye though was the everyday outfits of the people on earth, they could have fit in fine today with just a little bit more of a futuristic edge. Lots of dark colors, leather jackets with great detail and there seemed to be a lot of turtle necks and scarfs going on. Costume On Film did a great review and an interview with the costume designer, Michael Kaplan.

I especially liked all of Uhura’s costumes. Click for source and more good photos.

It looks like just a printed tshirt, scarf and leather jacket with cool shoulder details. Click for source and more photos

And, of course, Benedict Cumberbatch really enhanced the movie.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 5:12 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. Going into a movie with low expectations is sometimes a pretty good thing – I surprised myself at how much I enjoyed it 🙂

So, what do you think?

