Skip to content

The Late Tote

May 19, 2013
by

Does it still count as a christmas/holiday present if I didn’t get around to making it until May? I guess now it can just be a mother’s day present…

other side of the same bag

This is Bia’s mother’s day/christmas present, two tote bags, one is sewing themed! I got the printed canvas fabric in Denver last summer and used S9658 (which apparently is out of print and not on the simplicity website anymore, even though it’s not a very old pattern). The pattern has lots of useful bag’s, not all that you really need a pattern for but this style of tote bag is nice to have the pieces already measured out for you. As much as I like math, sometimes it’s nice to do something that takes little brain power. Even still I messed it up a little. There is supposed to be an extra layer on the bottom outside for strength and contrast but I didn’t want to cover up the cool sewing prints so I left it off. For the plain denim version I was going to use the contrast in more zigzag fabric but realized I didn’t even cut the right pattern piece. Then I also forgot to finish the bottom of the pocket so I just stuck some rickrack on it. Good enough!

S9658

View B

Flowers inside!

Flowers inside!

Got to have a fun lining and use up scraps

Got to have a fun lining and use up scraps

put a cat in it

put a cat in it

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    May 20, 2013 11:28 am

    Your mama (a.k.a Bia … me) LOVES them!! The long handles are especially nice, as we found out Sunday morning packing some of Pedro’s books in them for transporting back to Nebraska.

So, what do you think?

