Skip to content

One Stylish Lab Coat

May 10, 2013
by

I feel like I’m wearing a lab coat. I’ll be honest, I feel a little bit like I wasted some awesome fabric here. The thing is just too long and I can’t shorten it because I used the salvage/border thing as the hem .I love that detail and don’t want to loose it.

Pretending I'm in a lab...

Pretending I’m in a lab…

It does fit and feel very comfortable, it will be great for fall probably. But I could only think of one way to wear it (belted with skinny jeans) so that it didn’t look like a lab coat or pajamas. Maybe if I had more pairs of skinny jeans/pants, since it’s black and white it would look good with colored pants too, but I don’t have any more. And I hate leggings as pants, some people can do it but I don’t know that it would be all that comfortable to me (not sure that I have any anyways, I might have some I use for running in cold weather…).

you know, it kindof looks like jedi-wear too… I would be a very stylish jedi master.

Whatever, next time I’ll cut some 6 inches off the bottom of the pattern.

To the pattern review!

Pattern: Burdastyle 104 6/2011

Pattern Description: The english site just says “linen overshirt,” the german site however (after google translation) says “Why would this be good rope ladder? It does not matter really. The casual, coral-red shirt is ever the right outfit for whatever follows. With forward shoulder seam, it waives the collar and cuffs.” Weird way to start out (in the photo from the magazine the lady is holding a rope ladder…), but at least it’s descriptive by the end.

hmm… what and interesting rope ladder. I think I’ll tie you up and keep you for myself handsome shirtless man.

Pattern Sizing: 38. Even though I usually do a 36 for Burda tops, I’m glad that wasn’t an option (sizing goes from 38 to 46) because there probably wouldn’t have been enough ease in it to be comfortable. I am very happy with the fit as is.

Fabric Used: Ikat-ish cotton

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, very much so

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were ok, it felt like they skipped around a lot like the order of operations wasn’t very logical (I am an engineer after all), but Burda is never very good with instructions. It’s not a super difficult pattern anyways. I did get mixed up when attaching the collar to the neck because there aren’t any notches (that I remember seeing, I could have missed some while tracing), so I had to unpick and puzzle my way through (that was annoying!).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the casual style, and it’s very comfortable. I do not like the length, next time I’ll shorten it by 6 inches at the bottom to be more blouse-like. The heads of the sleeves were also pretty big and it took a lot of pins to get it eased in without any folds or gathers. Unless you like gathered sleeves, then just gather it – but the pattern drawing indicates the sleeves are supposed to be flat on top.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None other than cutting the pattern pieces out on the cross-grain to use the awesome salvage/border.

Would you sew it again? Yes, it fits well and is comfortable.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, very easy to put together I think.

Also, I finished classes and turned my thesis in and am all done with graduation! Now to find a job…

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    May 10, 2013 6:12 am

    I don’t think it looks too long – it may just feel that way. I like it, especially with the border touches kept in.

  2. May 10, 2013 7:04 am

    I think it looks lovely with the belt. Without looks good too 🙂

  3. May 10, 2013 7:35 am

    You’re right – it looks super comfy! And congrats on getting everything done and submitted!

  4. May 10, 2013 8:14 am

    This is one of the Burda patterns on my to do list. Your rendition of this pattern is beautiful and very stylish. I especially like the length of your garment it really highlights the fabric choice.

  5. May 10, 2013 11:22 am

    Congrats on graduating!! I had to laugh out loud about the rope ladder…

  6. May 10, 2013 4:16 pm

    Congrats on finishing your studies! This top might work well belted over a pencil skirt, with heels??

So, what do you think?

