Skip to content

Ring of (Embroidery) Power

April 6, 2013
tags:
by

I showed you previously a nerdy embroidery project I was working on and now it’s done! I was inspired by The Fellowship of the Ring (which I’m currently reading) obviously.

Mr. Husband and I watched the first Hobbit movie for the first time recently (there were many more times afterwards) and I loved it so much (plot changes and all. Thorin is too cute not to like) I reread my treasured 50th anniversary edition of the book, then immediately went on a quest to the used book stores in town to find the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Someday I also want to embroider the map of the lonely mountain from the Hobbit, like Cindy so awesomely did already.

I am pretty excited about how well this turned out, just (a lot) of black embroidery floss and a cheap white “feed sack” dish towel (it’s more handkerchief sized in my opinion). I probably should have used a better quality fabric, but I’m too lazy to cut out a square and hem it. I used a backstitch for the lettering and it worked really well, I think a stem stitch would also look nice in this font. Speaking of fonts, I made a pdf of my “pattern” so you too could have an ominous One Ring handkerchief! (not that the pattern is that hard to make, I used microsoft publisher and it’s awesome word art features) I think this would look really cool in white floss too, you know, to give it a kindof “invisible” look since the words on the actual ring are only visible when hot.

Shot of the backside, a little messy but I think it looks cool, like a cryptic message

Shot of the backside, a little messy but I think it looks cool, like a cryptic message

This will probably be a gift to my Da, who is so into Tolkien that he has even read many of Christopher Tolkien’s (J.R.R.’s son) literary archeology books on his father’s work. But for now I’ll just enjoy it for a while 😉

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    April 6, 2013 2:00 pm

    Very nice! Instead of white (ghost like), I might suggest a very light grey – or grey with a couple of white threads mixed in.

  2. April 7, 2013 6:26 pm

    Love Tolkien. Love all things Middle Earth (and earlier). Love your very neat, tidy and as far as I can see perfectly even stitches.

Trackbacks

  1. The Rap Lyric Embroidery Project Part 1 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Pedro and the Sharks | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

