Skip to content

Technicolored Tiger

April 2, 2013
by

Um, am I late for the Jungle January party? As much as I wanted to participate at the time, life and neurotic queues got in the way. This is also a stash bust, the fabric has been in my possession for so long mostly because I just didn’t know what to do with it (see more on that below).

It's an "I don't know what to do with my hands" kind of day

It’s an “I don’t know what to do with my hands” kind of day

Pattern: McCall’s 5929, sadly out of print

Pattern Description: Fitted shirts A, B have darted front and back, front band, front ruffles and shaped hemline; shirt A has stand-up collar, below elbow length sleeves with sleeve band; shirt B has collar and collar band, full length sleeves with placket opening and cuffs; dresses A, B have sleeves gathered at cap and lower edge.

I made up my own view of this pattern by not including the sleeves or ruffles.

Pattern Sizing: 6-20, I made a 10. This shirt has a really great fit I think, it was probably the ruffles that made them retire the pattern.

Fabric Used: Some ridiculous turquoise and purple tiger/zebra print linen (the animal doesn’t matter much when you’re not even going for realistic colors right?). I have no idea what I was thinking when I bought this, probably “Ooh pretty!” So it sat in my stash for a long time as I tried to figure out what to do with it, I love the colors but it would be too crazy and overwhelming if I made a dress or even long sleeve blouse. Then there’s the fact that the linen is really thick (and amazing feeling). But I think I got it right with a sleeveless blouse… now just have to figure out what to do with the rest of the fabric left in my stash (without sleeves this blouse is not a fabric hog).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No, not really but that’s because I mixed up the design a little.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I just had some brain farts along the way (like sewing the collar pieces right side to wrong side) because apparently I was so excited to be sewing again I couldn’t remember how…

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the fit on this blouse (have I mentioned it’s my third time making it?) and the shape of the front button band. I don’t care for the sleeves or ruffle options but those are easily changed.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I omitted the sleeves and ruffles, I also didn’t use the top collar piece but that was actually an accident. I had it all cut out and ready to go but just forgot about it and didn’t feel like redoing the collar stand piece (again). Oh well, I like it like this too. I used some black cotton to face the button placket to reduce bulk and turquoise bias binding to finish the sleeveless edges.

Would you sew it again? Probably since I’ve already made it a couple times (never blogged about but seen here and here), it’s currently my best fitted shirt pattern. I don’t want to call it a “TNT” (tried and true) pattern though because I wish it had more traditional sleeves, maybe I can frankenstein some from another pattern next time.

Would you recommend it to others? If you have it or can get it then yes, definitely.

~Molly

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 7:24 am

    Cute blouse – fits really well. I think the fabric would work with a summer skirt too.

    • April 3, 2013 1:35 pm

      I think you’re right, my only other idea was a simple skirt, so maybe I’ll try that

  2. April 2, 2013 8:15 am

    Love! And since the 60s are in, maybe a shift dress with the leftovers? Sundress? Straight dress and the rest as accents on some otherwise boring garment ie pockets, inner belt, under collar, inner pocket flaps etc.

  3. April 2, 2013 10:09 am

    Now THAT is a great shirt! Love everything – the fit, the fabric, the cut. 🙂

  4. April 2, 2013 1:31 pm

    I think that fabric matured nicely in the stash! Very pretty colours. It’s great to get back into sewing with a pretty print and a familiar pattern…even if you do end up sewing bits together wrong, hehe, it’s still sewing 😉

  5. April 2, 2013 3:15 pm

    yay for sewing again 🙂
    blouse looks great, nice fit…
    also new jeans?!!

    • April 3, 2013 1:37 pm

      Thanks! Not new jeans, I’ve had them forever but only recently decided the shape looked nice on me ha!

  6. April 2, 2013 6:03 pm

    There is nothing ridiculous about turquise zebras and you look great! Thank you for playing!!

So, what do you think?

