Skip to content

“Glass Painting” the Crafty Way!

January 25, 2013
by

For 6 months now I have had a rubbermaid tub full of empty glass vases left over from my wedding center pieces and had absolutely no use for them. So I found a few ideas on pinterest for decorating them and brought them with me when I went home for a few days after christmas.

How the vases were decorated at the wedding, Bia and the Older Sister did a great job.

How the vases were decorated at the wedding, Bia and the Older Sister did a great job! Mostly I was just glad I didn’t have to do it.

The first thing I tried was painting one with craft stained glass paint that I got at hobby lobby. I used masking tape to make some artistically random lines and angles, drew around the tape with the fake wrought iron puffy paint, then after that dried I filled in the triangles and rectangles with what ever color struck my fancy. Bia and Pedro both tried the paints out too, free hand painting and tracing:

Masking tape for guide lines and some very uneven puffy paint lines. We at Toferet World Headquarters don't care much about perfection.

Masking tape for guide lines and some very uneven puffy paint lines. We at Toferet World Headquarters don’t care much about perfection.

Spot enjoys it.

Spot enjoys fine art.

Pedro would like you all to notice how there are actual mountains in the background too.

Pedro’s mountain vase, traced from a picture of the Rockies  Pedro would like you all to notice how there are actual mountains in the background too.

Next we went to the hardware store and bought some spray paint! Two of the ones we got are actually meant for glass, I wanted to also get a glass mirror finish spray paint, but we didn’t see any so we just got regular metallic silver (I think it worked fine). Then we just kindof went at it spraying the vases (links are to pinterest inspiration): all one color, faded from clear to color, over top of rubber bands (to give a striped effect), two colors at the same time, and finally on top of a half and half mix of water and vinegar to give it a drippy or spotted look (supposed to look like old mercury glass, but we didn’t even start out with the right kind of mirror paint, it still looked cool though).

Clean the glass first!

Clean the glass first!

Pedro in control of the camera

Pedro in control of the camera

ID-Dec12 015

ID-Dec12 024

That looks way more intense than I remember it being...

That looks way more intense than I remember it being…

Attempting to spray through lace, that only kindof worked because the lace wasn't very secure.

Attempting to spray through lace, that only kindof worked because the lace wasn’t very secure.

It was a lot of fun and I got rid of all but two of my vases! I would suggest, if others attempt this, to wear a mask or something because we were blowing blue boogers for the rest of the day… Oh well, live and learn and get cancer from toxic fumes.

Some finished products drying in the basement

Some finished products drying in the basement

ID-Dec12 036

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. The Oldest Sister permalink
    January 25, 2013 6:36 am

    All this from 3$ hobbster lobster vases! Amazing! Ps, got any extras for da oldest sister?! You know when my bday is….

    • January 25, 2013 6:43 am

      Ya, mom was supposed to give you one. I only have two of them now, she has the rest somewhere.

  2. January 25, 2013 11:17 am

    That looks like it was fun! Like the mercury glass idea. Going to look that one up…

  3. January 25, 2013 3:32 pm

    Cool! I still have tons of stuff left over from my wedding too…what to do, what to do?

  4. January 30, 2013 8:17 am

    This explains some paint on the concrete floor of the utility room ….

    Da

So, what do you think?

