Skip to content

The Older Sister’s Present

January 21, 2013

Last year I made a coat for Pedro, so this year I made a top for my Older Sister that she can wear to work. I also made something for Pedro, but we’ll talk about that later. Scattered through this review are quotes from the Older Sister on her feelings about the project.

OlderSisterTop (4)

Pattern: V8771

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, pullover top has sleeve and hem variations. Sleeves A and lower edge B/C: narrow hem. Lower edge A and cuffs B/C: stitched hems.

Pattern Sizing: XS-M (and L-XXL), I made a medium.

Fabric Used: Purple and silver stripped cotton/poly knit

I like the fabric, purple isn’t my fav color but its cute and soft and comfy so it’s good.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Pretty much.

OlderSisterTop (5)

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the interesting design lines and the loose fit. I don’t think it would look that good with the long sleeve extensions but the regular version is nice. And it doesn’t take much fabric!

It fits good and is very comfortable, at first I thought it would feel wierd cause it looks like it has bat wings, but its surprisingly comfortable. It’s cute enough to go out in and also nice enough to wear to work.

OlderSisterTop (3)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

I don’t know if I’d really change anything about the shirt, maybe a non purple color, but its nice to mix a little purple in wardrobe. I don’t own many things that are “shiny”, but this isn’t a blinding gaudy kind of shiny, it’s subtle so I like it.

Would you sew it again? I kindof want one for myself now

OlderSisterTop (2)

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s easy to sew and easy to fit.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2013 6:30 am

    OMGosh I love it you should totally make a longer version (like a dress) to wear with tights!

  2. January 21, 2013 9:23 am

    Nice Job!

  3. January 21, 2013 9:47 am

    Cute! The contrast looks great

Trackbacks

  1. Double Redux | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

