Skip to content

It’s A Skirt

November 7, 2012
by

It’s pretty boring. But everyone needs a boring skirt once in a while, right? Basically what it comes down to is I’ve been wanting to try this pattern (which everyone and their dog has made by the looks of it, 55 reviews on Pattern Review!) and I had some appropriate fabric that I didn’t have an emotional attachment to (my mom had just cleaned out her stash and gave me about 3 boxes of fabric). Only problem with the skirt really is that, once again, I didn’t think to line it so I have to wear a slip, and that’s just a hassle.

I also didn’t get good pictures because it was dark already by the time I though of it.

Pattern: S2451, view C/D (I think mine ended up between the two lengths)

Pattern Description: Misses’ skirt sewing patterns, each in two lengths. Easy to Sew Collection.

Pattern Sizing: 4-20, I made a 10. I think I might try it again in a 12. I’m pretty sure this skirt isn’t supposed to sit at your waist, and mine doesn’t but I feel like the back darts would sit better lower down.

Fabric Used: Some sort of tan waxed cotton from my mom’s stash. I think I even have enough for another attempt with lining.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes. The model isn’t wearing the view I made, but I think it looks like the drawing and what other people have made.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I think I followed them, it’s hard to remember since I was sewing one seam at a time over a longer time span than typical for me. I do think the instruction helped make my back slit very nice.

Back, obviously after being worn

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It is incredibly comfy, the waist bad feels awesome. But I’m not a huge fan of the pleats, I never feel like I can get them to sit and stay right, and when I wear a top over the skit (instead of tucked in) the pleats just end up looking like gathers… so what’s the point? I wonder if it can be modified to have a flat front….

Oh, but the pockets are amazing!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Yes!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I think it is flattering on a ton of different body types.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Pedro permalink
    November 7, 2012 8:26 am

    Since when do you wear boots

  2. November 7, 2012 8:27 am

    Cute! I like this pattern but probably too like the Miss Chalmers pattern I already have to buy it – although this one has loads of variations which is good!

  3. November 7, 2012 9:58 am

    It’s a great silhouette! I haven’t made one yet (I don’t even own the pattern), but it’s very tempting. 🙂

  4. November 7, 2012 3:31 pm

    This is so cute! I think you could probably eliminate the waist pleats by pinching out that amount on the pattern piece; either that or convert them to darts 🙂

  5. November 7, 2012 5:27 pm

    Very cute skirt. If you want to add lining after the fact, and the yoke/back waistband are also facings it’s very easy – as long as you don’t hate hand sewing as much as I do! Just cut the main front skirt piece, and the back pieces from your lining fabric, sew them together leaving a slit at the top centre back where the zip goes, cut a U shape in the bottom centre back so that the lining doesn’t show through the vent when you walk, serge all the edges, including top and hem, and then catch stitch to the facings. It wouldn’t look pretty on the inside, but would do the job.

    Oh, and I now realise why I don’t write tutorials – I am beyond rubbish at describing how to do something!

Trackbacks

  1. Pack it away and start from the top | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

