Skip to content

Dragon Cat

November 2, 2012
tags: ,
by

I didn’t have time to make myself a costume (or dress up since we didn’t do anything but hand out candy) but I did manage to squeeze in time to make Spot some dragon wings! And surprisingly she didn’t seem to mind them much. Why? Because when Spot puts her ears back she looks exactly like Toothless from How to Train Your Dragon! How could I resist?

Yes, I do take my cat out on a leash. She loves it.

Basically what I did was free hand a wing shape on black paper, add a turnover allowance, shape some wire in the same shape and turn the edges over the wire and glue. Once they were done I just wrapped the excess wire around the back of Spot’s harness. Pretty simple and it didn’t take too long cumulatively.

Spot also loved the wire I used and stole it many times.

They did flop over in the wind a lot ’cause they’re a little bulky. And Spot likes to walk right next to walls so that and going around corners didn’t work so well.

Someone walked by on our walk outside and she had to go say Hi.

SQUIRREL

“Can I take these off now?”

Next year I’m going to make her a white shirt collar and tie.

Sleeping Dragon

~Molly

12 Comments leave one →
  1. RagDollsRising permalink
    November 2, 2012 7:35 am

    Very cute! Would like to take my cat for a walk too, but I don’t think she would be as well behaved as yours.

  2. November 2, 2012 7:49 am

    ahahahahahaha she loves it. Loves it so much she will wear it everyday (like the one ring except without the invisibility)..

  3. Pedro permalink
    November 2, 2012 9:25 am

    Once I wrapped a string loosely around Zeus. She went full velociraptor and started running around in circles.

  4. November 2, 2012 10:58 am

    Freaking adorable! Spot-with-wings actually reminds me of the littlest sibling of the Catwings children’s book series…if you haven’t read them before check them out; they’re super cute. And none of my cats will walk on a leash…sigh.

  5. November 2, 2012 11:02 am

    Aww, I love the picture where she’s lying on the ground. So cute.

  6. November 2, 2012 3:24 pm

    Ahhh, we call our little cat Toothless all the time! Though Spot looks definitely more like Toothless being all black. Love it.

  7. November 2, 2012 4:11 pm

    Cute! My kitty wouldn’t have any part of that, she must be one laid back cat

    • November 3, 2012 7:37 am

      Oh yes, Spot is definitely the most laid back cat I’ve ever met. My husband plays with her like she’s a dog and she loves that too.

  8. November 3, 2012 4:54 am

    I just love this! MY cats act like I am squatting in their building- not providing love, nurturing and fabulous wings! Lucky you…

    • November 3, 2012 7:38 am

      Spot often acts that way too, she complains a lot. Mostly about not getting to go outside whenever she wants.

  9. November 3, 2012 11:02 am

    Oh my goodness! Spot is adorable! Great job on the wings 🙂

  10. November 6, 2012 8:59 am

    Oh my gosh, that’s so freaking cute! ^__^ What a good sport your kitty is! 🙂

So, what do you think?

