Skip to content

Book Review – How to Sell your Crafts Online (and more purses!)

June 6, 2012
by

Title: How to Sell your Crafts Online, by Derrick Sutton.

How to Sell Your Crafts Online – by Derrick Sutton

If you are going to set up an Etsy site to sell your ‘stuff’ (like cool things you make…), and you had little or no experience with the whole process, I think this would be a great getting-started book.

Here’s how Amazon.com describes the book:

With over 400,000 sellers on Etsy, how can you make YOUR shop stand out and increase your sales? This is a key question for many crafters and artists who are selling online these days. Now here are all the answers and much more from author and Etsy seller Derrick Sutton. Based on his self-published guide, and drawn from his practical experience, you will learn how to boost your Etsy sales, attract more customers, and expand your online presence. Derrick shares his proven online sales and marketing knowledge in an easily accessible format, complete with simple actions steps at the end of each chapter. Learn how to completely optimize your Etsy shop, website, or blog, and much more.

Paperback: 224 pages

ISBN-10: 0312541260

Genre:  “How – to”

Now, I’m not planning on opening an Etsy shop anytime soon, but … this did give me some good pointers on blogging and ideas about selling things (if I ever had time to do that!).  For instance… my PURSES that I have been making!

little purse – pink and lacy

This one was for one of my sisters (the one that’s living in Alexandria VA now, in Kuwait previous to Virginia with the Army…) (AND [doesn’t blog=brag??] – the sister who is going to be a GENERAL in the Army Reserve soon!!).  I  think  this pink purse matches what my Army Sister will be wearing to the wedding.  Note the buttons and lace are from the button stash my mom had that Molly and I divided up when she passed away.

Not to leave any sisters out …

green purse, lots of shiney things on it!

This is detail from the green purse I made for my sister that lives here in Lincoln, the one I go on bike rides with, the one that runs (actually, they both run and I don’t) and has signed up for TWO half-marathons, in TWO days, back-to-back.  She also is a plant expert go-to-gal (for work and fun!).

So, the point is, if I sold things, I would consider selling these little purses.  And I would take to heart many of the pointers in the book by Derrick Sutton.  The purses are fun to make, fun to use (I used mine to go to the Farmer’s Market yesterday – and speaking of selling purses… I did see someone selling purses made from batik, lined, no zipper, just a button closure, no little pockets or key clip – for $20! jesh!)!

ttfn — Bia

{P.S. – Yes, this was a way to write about the little purses!  And to share a good “how-to” book!}

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 4:15 pm

    Wow, it looks like you put a lot of work into the purse, they’re so hard to sew, I’ve only made one and it took ages getting everything perfect. In case you do ever sell online stay away from etsy, it’s a reseller’s heaven and the only way to get your items noticed is to keep re-listing which really ups the fees. There’s a lot of discusion about it online (Regretsy, etsy callout etc). I would suggest going with bigcartel or something similar..

So, what do you think?

