Skip to content

The Morgan T-Shirt

May 9, 2012
tags:
by

Look, I made something! Oh, you wanted to see another wedding dress update (it is Wednesday after all), well too bad. I had to order more silk thread (actually Bia did, cause she loves me!) because no one in town sells it (the lady at Hancocks, which is the largest fabric store in town, tried to give me Sulky brand thread when I asked for 100% silk thread. Not the same, pretty sure that lady doesn’t sew. You can tell which fabric store employees sew and which don’t. You would think that would be a job requirement.)

Anyways, back story on this t-shirt. My last final exam of the semester was on Friday, I didn’t finish the last problem and had been working on it for a solid hour. I felt like crap and was angry when I got home, so I started “angry cleaning” (I started throwing things around and in the trash) but that’s not very productive. I couldn’t just watch tv, I had to keep busy DOING SOMETHING. So I let off steam by cutting up a t-shirt and sewing it back together. Yes, I use sewing as therapy for all different kinds of emotions. Doesn’t everyone?

It also helps that I was reminded that I own several t-shirt recycling books by Elena when she posted about not knowing what to do with all the t-shirts college students seem to accumulate. I also have a ton of those types, but never wear them because I dislike how baggy and unflattering they are. I’ve even told my family if they’re going to buy me a t-shirt, try to get a fitted one.

The darts are a little puckery, but I never said it was a perfect makeover.

So the t-shirt is a “project” from a book I’ve had forever, I think my aunt Sam gave it to me in high school. Here is the Conflicting Review:

Couldn’t find a picture of the cover in the interwebs so I scanned my copy

Title: 99 Ways to Cut, Sew, Trim & Tie Your T-Shirt into Something Special (could they think of a longer title?)

No. of pages: 208

ISBN: 0307345564

Genre: Crafts and Hobbies

Year of original publication: Potter Craft, Ring-bound; 2006-03-07

Synopsis: 

Extraordinarily clever ways to transform any ordinary T-shirt. The pattern techniques are simple, and the supplies you’ll need are easy to find: T-shirts, scissors, sewing needle, and thread. The difficulty of each project is rated from 1 to 4, and none take more than 30 minutes to create. You’ll never look plain wearing a T-shirt and jeans again.

When they say the “techniques” are simple, they mean it. There are 99 different projects, all with female names, that are literally just an idealized drawing of what the t-shirt should look like when done on one page. Then on the other page, are some simple sketches of approximately how to accomplish the project and a few written instructions.

What did you like or dislike about the book? Well, since all t-shirts are different, the instructions are pretty vague. And the styles are VERY idealized, I would bet about 50% of the projects have the backs cut off making wearing a bra impossible, and with some of the projects you would basically be walking around topless! But if you take it with a grain of salt and just look at the ideas presented, you can incorporate bits and pieces into more wearable garments. The one I made here is probable the most wearable idea they had.

Would you read it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, and there are other versions too for jeans and scarves, but those don’t interest me much.

I would scan the page of the book showing how I made my t-shirt, but that would be the entire project and I’m not sure the authors would appreciate that. Basically here is what I did:

  • Traced a t-shirt that I like the fit of onto a too-big t-shirt
  • Cut the sleeves off
  • Sewed the side up where I drew on a better fit
  • Finished the arm holes
  • Cut off the neck band
  • Cut the sleeves into rectangles and sewed them into a tube
  • Sewed the unhemmed edge of the sleeves to the neckline

And you’re done! I had to tack the turtle neck part down so it would stay put, and I made some little darts because the arm holes were gaping. Quick and dirty.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 8:14 am

    That’s pretty cool. I’ve accumulated quite a few too big t-shirts. I had started putting them in a pile to donate, I think reshaping some of them might be a better idea. Thanks!

  2. May 9, 2012 9:25 am

    ha that is very similar circumstances to the making of my weird gold skirt/dress thingy – right down to the sh1tty exam!
    i like the neck on this makeover

  3. May 9, 2012 9:37 pm

    “You can tell which fabric store employees sew and which don’t” – so true! 🙂

So, what do you think?

