Skip to content

April Pattern

April 30, 2012
tags:
by

A boring pattern acquisition update this month because all I did was renew my Burda subscription. Even though I said in my original post that Burdas wouldn’t count because they came every month, I’m going to count it just this once because it’s the only time of year I “buy” the magazines.

My subscription doesn’t end until June, but if I didn’t renew now I would definitely forget. It seems like a lot of people didn’t like the patterns Burda was putting out last year, but I don’t think the entire magazine has to be spectacular for it to be worth it. I’ve gone back through old magazines months (or years) and found awesome patterns that I didn’t like when I first got the magazine. Really I only need 1 or 2 good patterns per issue for it to be worth it for me.

The subscription did go up again this year to $90 (I think it was $80 or $85 last year, can’t remember exactly), but if you break it down, that’s $7.50 per issue. Assuming there’s about 25-30 patterns per issue, each pattern only costs $0.30-$0.25, and that’s pretty damn cheap! But since I usually only find ~3 patterns I like per issue, assuming those are the only patterns I ever use from the issue, the patterns cost around $3. And considering that the cheapest I can ever get Vogue patterns is $3.99, I’d say that’s entirely acceptable (especially since I have had way fewer fit issues with Burda. Vogue seems to be hit or miss sometimes)

Interesting side note: The English version of Burda (or maybe American, I don’t know if all English versions are the same country to country) used to never have the same cover photo as the one posted on the German website, but just in the last couple months it seems they’ve synced up. Not that it probably means anything important.

A cost analysis to brighten up your day!

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 9:08 am

    I finally broke downa nd got a subscription to Burda Plus- it’s hard enough for little me to find the right pattern lines, but grading up a size is like torture for me. So I was paying to use about 5 of the patterns in each issue. But they are all so pretty!? So frustreating.

  2. April 30, 2012 6:07 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more. First, patterns, Big 4 or otherwise, are just not sold around here anymore. After the EQ, something happened to the French magazines we used to get and Burda (already rare and expensive) just disappeared completely.

    I also had to get a mailing adress in Florida so that adds quite a few dollars to my single issue costs but magazines are around $10-$12 US here anyway so I won’t complain. Even if the Burda rises up to nearly $15 US an issue, I’m an addict and I don’t care, LOL!

  3. May 12, 2012 7:29 pm

    It costs around 184-200 in Australia (depending on whom who subscribe with). Just not worth it given the lack of cool patterns in it. I’m letting my Knipmode subscription expire too. Gonna switch to La Mia Boutique for a year and see how it goes..

So, what do you think?

