Skip to content

Wednesday Wedding Whale: Sigh, It’s Too Big

April 25, 2012
by

Yes, that’s right, too big.

I finished the zipper and finally got to try the dress on in full (I had tried it on before along the way but it’s so hard to tell if it fits like it’s supposed to when I have no help) and it’s too big. I think it’s because my silk is so much heavier than the cheap polyester I used for my test-run and either stretched out or shifted while I cut it out. I even retried on the test-run dress and it still fits perfect like it did before (so, no mom, I have not lost weight!). But I’d much rather the dress be too big than too small or some other defect because I can easily take it in at the sides. Not sure if I can keep the waist seams lined up perfectly though since they curve so much.

Since I’ve decided not to reveal the full finished dress until after the wedding when I have really good pictures, here is Spot after burrowing inside the test-run dress (which she has claimed as her own).

And refusing to be photogenic and open her eyes.

This weekly Wednesday update so far has been a good location for random links too, so here are some more!

  • Since we’re on the subject of formal dresses, this is a little look at some famous movie prom dresses and how to “update” them for now. I think I need to rewatch Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion
  • Pedro has been obsessed with this game, I think she finally beat it though.
  • 3-D Chocolate Printer, enough said.
  • Not a link, but it’s 85F outside right now – is it strange that I associate summer indoors with dimly lit rooms (because the window coverings are closed) and continous buzzing (air conditioning). Of course I also have a separate (outdoor) association with summer: stuffed, itching noses, grass and wild flowers. Must be the location of the world I’m in, it’s not exactly the most comfortable place for humans on this planet.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 6:41 am

    I look forward to seeing the photos. I’m sure you will be able to fix it :)

  2. April 26, 2012 12:55 am

    Argh! But yes, much better too big than too small. Best of luck with the tweaking, although I’m sure you don’t need it.

Trackbacks

  1. The Morgan T-Shirt « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. My Wedding Dress « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

