Skip to content

The Event Dress

April 20, 2012
by

I had to take a break from the wedding dress, so I made a dress to wear to my bridal shower and bachelorette party. This is slightly unusual because I almost never sew something specifically for a scheduled event. This dress also jumped ahead of my entire queue because of an actual dead line, which also never happens. I’m pretty tired so that’s all the introduction you’ll be getting.

Pattern: Butterick 3532 from some time around 40 years ago (?), I couldn’t find a date so I’m just guessing.

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, unlined jacket has rounded neckline and full length sleeves. Close-fitting, mid-knee length dress with flared skirt has U-neckline, cap sleeves and dropped waistline. Solid or bi-color. Topstitch trim.

Pattern Sizing:  Size 10, bust 32.5″

Fabric Used: The most amazing sparkly cotton knit, I don’t know how the sparkles are attached but they are practically embedded into the fabric because it doesn’t come off on your hands or in the wash.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but of course no one is a long and “willowy” as those cover models.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s basically just a tshirt, but the seaming would make it fun for a stripe or patterned fabric. It’s really easy to wear. The only annoying thing about this version I made is that the facings don’t stay down perfectly, I wanted them to be invisible so I just under stitched and tacked them down.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The only change I made was to cut off 5 inches from the hem (which I left raw because that’s really the best way for this stuff) and take in the side seams a little. Next time I think I’ll lower the darts too.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I’d like to make a more casual version. I’ll probably have a hard time wearing this to anything other than parties because of the sparkle, I’m not an every day sparkle kind of girl.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, because I bet those of you who are adept at drafting could make something like this up easily, it’s just a cap sleeve tshirt with a drop waist, half circle skirt.

~Molly

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 6:20 am

    This is so sharp on you….and of course I am totally down with the hoofcovers!

  2. April 20, 2012 6:50 am

    It’s beyond cute. I’m not a big fan of drop waists but your dress is adorable! Great pattern find, very 70s retro chic. And I love the shoes!!!

  3. April 20, 2012 11:32 am

    Your dresses always look so lovely! Well done. It looks super comfy as well!

  4. Bia permalink
    April 20, 2012 4:06 pm

    this looks really nice!

  5. April 20, 2012 4:13 pm

    Ooh, sparkles! I’m not confident in my own ability to pull off a drop waist but you look fantastic in it. Very nice!

  6. April 20, 2012 10:43 pm

    I’m glad this jumped to the top of the cue cos its lovely…. great shoes too.

  7. April 21, 2012 2:32 am

    That style really suits you. Also, can’t go wrong with anything sparkly.

  8. April 21, 2012 7:26 am

    That’s a great fit on you. Looks totally on trend!

  9. April 21, 2012 11:58 am

    very nice!

  10. Pedro permalink
    April 21, 2012 11:00 pm

    Do you always smile that weirdly? Have I never noticed this before?

  11. April 22, 2012 4:51 am

    Great shoes and I can see you having a ball in this dress.

  12. April 22, 2012 11:21 am

    This is supercute!!! I am trying to wrap my head around that being a 40-year old pattern bwa! You pull off that drop waist with so much flair, I absolutely adore it!!

  13. April 23, 2012 12:14 am

    This is a gorgeous dress! Great colour and the perfect length for you :)
    Thanks for your comment; Vogue 1170 is a winner isn’t it? I’ve used it three times now, the top is pretty cute too

  14. April 25, 2012 8:54 am

    Very cute!

Trackbacks

  1. May 6 – 13, In a Rainbow (mostly) « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. May 21-25, it’s still May? « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

