Skip to content

On why cats are awesome

April 13, 2012
tags:
by

While Cindy of Cation Designs did not directly award the Sewing with Cats blog award to me, she did say our cat’s were allowed to simply take the award for themselves if they wished (which of course all cats would in fact do). So Spot, being the helpful assistant in all things sewing (and blogging since she often sits directly in front of the monitor or on my lap when I’m using my laptop and uses it as a pillow, thus impeding my ability to type and/or see the screen), has taken this blog award for herself and decided to share it with her cousins to the south (that she loves to terrorize when we visit on holidays, they are not especially social animals and are very unhappy about any sort of change) Becky and Zeus.

Becky (left) and Zeus (right)

Becky is my mom’s neurotic older cat, she came to us as a small kitten from the shelter. Before Spot, my mom and I were the only one’s she really showed affection to. Of course now that Spot has come, she hates me mostly. Zeus is most definitely Pedro’s cat, she too is neurotic and has always hated me. She came to us as tiny kitten from one of Pedro’s friends, and Becky hated her instantly which probably caused Zeus’ issues. When I visit with Spot in tow, Zeus often vanishes and is seen only at night (though I think she secretly likes Spot because I saw them together in the kitchen one night when I went for a glass of water). Now that Pedro has gone off to college, Zeus has become more friendly with our Da (previously also a mortal enemy). Spot, being the most friendly cat I have ever seen, really wants to play with them both and chases them around the house.

Typical Pedro and Zeus.

So the “Rules” of the award are as stated:

  1. You don’t even need to thank the person/cat who gave it to you. Heck, give it to yourself if you sew with a cat and I don’t know you/it. Reason for this being, cats realize they are superior beings and never deign to thank you even if you’ve been scritching their ears for an hour and your arm feels like it’s going to fall off. Check
  2. Nominate an arbitrary amount of people for this award. Tell them about it if you wish. Or don’t wish. Or wish for five minutes, then suddenly TURN AROUND AND SNAP AND NO I DON’T WANT TO BE SCRITCHED ANYMORE. Check
  3. Answer as many of the following questions as you wish on your blog:

Spot, blog assistant extraordinaire

My answers:

  • When did you acquire your helpful feline assistant? Was he/she immediately helpful, or did it take awhile? What is the average amount of time elapsed between when you start a project and when something gets helped with?

I got Spot just over 1 year ago, she is now approximately 2 years old and definitely still acts like a kitten/toddler. I don’t know if she was immediately helpful but it didn’t take long. She loves to lay on any fabric left out, and since she is black it is usually very obvious where she’s been, but other than that she only really helps when I’m cutting projects out (though I know she tries to assist at night when I’m not around…)

  • What is your helpful feline assistant’s favorite/weirdest thing to assist with?

Spot’s favorite thing to help with is taking pins out of fabric while I’m cutting pieces, leaving little slobber (and chew marks…) marks on my patterns, or simply stealing the pins and leaving them on the floor (so helpful!). But the weirdest thing she’s ever done is steal my tomato pin cushion out of the drawer it resides in and chew off the little strawberry that was connected to it.

  • How do you decline said assistance without losing your arm?

I just pick her up and move her, the only time she protests is if I’m trying to flatten fabric out because for some reason it really freaks her out that it’s moving.

  • What’s the worst thing your helpful feline assistant has managed to botch up? I’m imagining shredded chiffon, snagged silks, etc.

Nothing so far.

  • Are you ever afraid to post too many pictures of your helpful feline assistant on your blog, for fear of being labeled a crazy cat lady?

Never!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bia’s answers:

  • When did you acquire your helpful feline assistant? Was he/she immediately helpful, or did it take awhile? What is the average amount of time elapsed between when you start a project and when something gets helped with?
Zeus is as old as The Older Sister’s Son, whom we shall refer to from now on as Abe.  We got her ~May 2007.
Becky is 15 we think.
Becky doesn’t help anymore.
Zeus may not help at all, or may get in to help within 5 minutes of getting the tissue paper out.
  • What is your helpful feline assistant’s favorite/weirdest thing to assist with?
  • How do you decline said assistance without losing your arm?
Zeus NOW just lays down near, or on top of what I am working on. She used to dive under the tissue and try to steal it away. She used to take pins. That was when she was a tiny rambunctious kitten. No longer. Now shes helping.
Becky occasionally tries to lie behind the sewing machine while I am sewing.  She gets upset when I try to do something and sometimes tries to bite.  Then I either leave her alone for a bit or swat at her back.  She does like to lie on the nearest fabric pile that is stable and watch me sometimes.  That’s always nice.
  • What’s the worst thing your helpful feline assistant has managed to botch up? I’m imagining shredded chiffon, snagged silks, etc.

They have never ruined anything (knock on wood).

  • Are you ever afraid to post too many pictures of your helpful feline assistant on your blog, for fear of being labeled a crazy cat lady?

I really like cat photos of them helping to sew. But there probly is a limit.

And this is why cats are awesome. Feel free to also take this award if you have a cat!

~Molly and Bia

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 6:45 am

    Um, cats are bitation. Sometimes they “help” me read ….

    Da

    • April 13, 2012 6:47 am

      They wouldn’t bite you so much if you weren’t mean to them…

      • Pedro permalink
        April 13, 2012 9:11 am

        My kitten, not yours.

  2. April 16, 2012 7:51 pm

    Aww, I love seeing all the adorabe cat photos that have come out of this award! Spot as the blog assistant is especially precious. Thanks for playing along, and let’s hope that your so-far-nothing-has-been-ruined record stays standing!

Trackbacks

  1. May 1 – 5, With a Cat « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. May 6 – 13, In a Rainbow (mostly) « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

