Skip to content

Wednesday Wedding Whale: Linings

April 11, 2012
by

I’m in the process of sewing the lining now, which is a major pain in the @$$. I am so glad my silk is a crepe backed satin type, because if both the silk and the lining were crazy slippery I think I’d turn postal for sure. The lining is bemberg rayon, something I’d always wanted to try (not sold in stores here abouts) because sewing bloggers often talk about how awesome it is ’cause it doesn’t cling to you. That may be so, I couldn’t tell you yet, but I seriously doubt I’ll be getting anymore of this cursed stuff except on every fancy occasions… like sewing a daughters wedding dress 25-30 years from now (pray that she will just do it herself though!).

The dress is inside out, if you can't tell. Can you see Spot?

Also, some links that are interesting and kindof apply here:

  • My mom (Bia) sent me this link about why wedding dresses cost so much, but really it’s worth watching the video just to see the reporter riding a bike in her old dress so she can get some more use out of it! I wasn’t so sure I agreed with the cost assessment of this lady’s wedding dress, and neither was The Slapdash Sewist (though she states it much better than I could).
  • I think most of us here (digitally) like the idea of “slow fashion,” here is an interview with an Icelandic fashion company making a profit off the concept. Funnily enough, right after reading that interview I read Elena’s post on Seamless about where your clothing comes from.
  • Best sports movie of all time, a fashion review.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 6:37 am

    beautiful dress! i love the details and its simple lines.

  2. April 11, 2012 11:36 am

    Your dress is beautiful. It’s classic lines are elegant and timeless. I personally love working with Bemberg lining – it’s worth all the swearing! And thanks for all those links. It’s very interesting how we don’t understand just how much “cost” goes into good clothing in our instant-gratification-without-cost-gotta-look-like-a-celebrity culture.

  3. April 11, 2012 2:48 pm

    Hello Spot! I’m surprised you’re allowed near the wedding dress!

    Thanks for including all those links…I’m off to check them out!

    • April 11, 2012 3:21 pm

      Spot doesn’t have front claws so the dress isn’t in too much danger when it’s hanging up (thought the only real danger is getting hair all over it from being sat on!)

  4. April 12, 2012 2:31 am

    I think all lining fabrics are a pain in the neck, but cupro (which I think is what we usually call bemberg in the uk) is slightly less annoying than the cheaper stuff. It’s certainly lovely to wear.

    Dress is looking good!

  5. April 12, 2012 4:17 am

    Oh I’m going to have to get my ‘lining legs’ one day so now consider myself warned.

    The dress – wow ….

Trackbacks

  1. My Wedding Dress « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

