Skip to content

Sewing Under Pressure

March 31, 2012

As you should know by now, there is a Wedding in the near future.  The bride, Molly, is sewing her own dress.  Her mom (me) is sewing two out of three of the bridesmaid’s dresses and my own dress (if there is time – I do have a ‘fall-back’ dress, if I run out of time).  Since Christmas/Hannukah time frame, I have also sewn three Civil War shirts and a pair of drawers (the long-johns of the Civil War era, to be worn under the wool uniform).

That doesn’t sound like much, does it?

Well, I am neither a ‘carefree grad student’ nor ‘Pedro-like’ (meaning I actually DO need sleep, every day) like Molly and Pedro.  I have a full-time 40+ hour/week job.  And a husband to hang out with.  And a 100 + year old house to look after.  And a lawn to get back into shape (for instance, one of our big trees has to come down soon – we await the Tree Guy).  And travel for work (Alexandria VA a couple weeks ago, Kansas City MO next week, Louisville KY the week after …). And a wedding shower in May (yes, Molly’s!).  There’s more, but I begin to sound like a whiner.  As I always told the girls as they were growing up … “What do Whiners get?” -answer:  “Nothing”.

So, I am Sewing Under Pressure.  I think about the unfinished dresses A LOT.   Because of thinking about all the dresses yet to make, I decided to use some fabulous, but old (left from my mom’s sewing things), very light weight and silky feeling, fusable interfacing into the bodice of Pedro’s dress. I believe this is necessary because we chose a relatively light weight cotton knit (not on the list of suggested fabrics for their pattern).  Pedro RARELY wears dresses (could any of you guessed that?), so figuring out the size to make has been problematic.  And, as she is going to college 500 miles away, I can’t just bop over and have her try it on.  I cut out a “guess size” and will not sew up the side seams until she comes home in May for the bridal shower.  That means putting the midriff bands on as one front and two back pieces, rather than sewing them together as one band.  Also, I won’t be able to do alot to finish the lining midriff bands on the inside until the side seam issue is done.

There is some good news though.  The Older Sister’s dress is done!  Yeah!!  The fabric used for her dress is very pretty – it’s a shiney grey polyester, on a backing.  The fabric seemed to catch easily on my fingers, so I had to keep hangnails at a minimum.  I cut it an inch or so longer, since I know The Older Sister likes her dresses more at knee length.

We’ll get there, eventually.  I will give you bridesmaid dress details in the next entry the girls allow me to write.

ta ta for now — that’s TTFN for all you Tigger (Winnie the Pooh’s bouncy friend) fans

– Bia

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 6:32 pm

    And it will all be worth it in the end! Everything is so special when it’s handmade. Can’t wait to see how it all ends up.

So, what do you think?

