Skip to content

Sunday Doll Post: Samantha’s Muslin

March 11, 2012
by

I’m pretty sure this (free) pattern is meant to be an ugly 80s dress (well, they probably don’t think 80s dresses are ugly but… they are) … but it has good bones and is similar to the style of children’s clothing of the early 1900s (Sally’s [remember, her manufacturer name is actually Samantha] time period was supposed to be 1904). The original dress that Sally came with has been lost (actually I think everything she came with has since been lost, too bad too because they don’t make Sally or any of her stuff anymore), so I want to remake her dress sometime and I think this pattern would be a really good starting point.

The facings used in the pattern are really clever, but the skirt called for 44 inches of fabric! that's just way too puffy for me.

Here is a drawing of Samantha (Sally) so you can get an idea of the dress in question

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 6:48 am

    44 inches- seriously? Most of my clothes I’ve made for that size have involved 2 fat quarters and trim- even with matching hairbow! Thats is max-pouffy!

  2. Melodia permalink
    March 11, 2012 4:44 pm

    I echo prttynpnk – 44 inches for an 18″ doll’s dress skirt? That can’t seam right. It might be fun to try it for a lark – maybe it would look stupid, and then again, maybe not, depending on your fabric choice!

  3. March 14, 2012 12:21 am

    Love that butterfly fabric!
    I was interested to read your post on jumpers below. Here in Australia, we call the Weasley thing a jumper too. Personally I’ve always thought “sweater” to be a slightly disgusting word.

  4. PendleStitches permalink
    March 14, 2012 7:42 am

    I do love that fabric. Can you share where you got it from?

    • March 14, 2012 9:56 am

      I got it from Hobby Lobby years ago, just a quilting cotton

      • PendleStitches permalink
        March 14, 2012 1:54 pm

        Poop! It’s lovely and I’m having a bit of a butterfly crush at the moment.

So, what do you think?

