Skip to content

Janeway Knows What’s Up

March 1, 2012
tags:
by

The Internet is like a giant jellyfish. You can’t step on it. You can’t go around it. You’ve got to get through it.

A reference to Finding Nemo? I’m gonna say yes, because everything is somehow a reference to Finding Nemo.

Blog. A web log. Pretty creepy when you think about it. You’re making a very public ‘diary’ of sorts and hoping that people read it. Blogs (and tumblr, Pinterest, Twitter, etc….) are the only situation where you get excited that a stranger is following you. I suppose sewing blogs and other specific topics like that are better, my sister doesn’t talk too much about her personal life on this deal. That’d just be weird. Why would anyone care? If I ‘blogged,’ my stories would be as boring as brown grass. I would complain about my psycho roommate, midterms and group projects, double majoring and double minoring (and all the fun that ensues from that), expensive tuition, and stupid people. It’d mostly be complaining. Now does that sound even slightly interesting? Nope. That sounds like a diary. Why are people putting their diary on the internet? Не понятно.

Now if blogging was more like a Captain's log like in Star Trek, you got yourself a different story...

Now I know I’m preaching to the wrong crowd here. People got their reasons. I’m just saying that blogging with no purpose is “hella ‘spicious,” as the stoner across the hall from me would say. This isn’t a hobby. This is something to supplement a hobby. I have very few definite hobbies, at least in Molly’s mind. My activities are more unrestricted. I learn languages (too many according to my mom. I think they’re all secretly worried that I have world domination plans… Ridiculous!), read books, collect socks and bracelets… But those are more ‘characteristics’ than ‘hobbies,’ I’d say. Sewing is a hobby. You got me there, I’m not dissing your weird subculture of sewing blog wakapalooza. This is just a whole new venue for sewing, I don’t know if I can imagine my grandma doing one of these. She’d be a boss, that’s for sure. I’ve said it before, the Internet’s a crazy place.

“The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it’s difficult to discern whether or not they are genuine.”
― Abraham Lincoln

P.S. I’m having trouble talking normally, but yet still casually in this thing. Molly says I can’t cuss (except for Star Trek). For me casual = cussing. College, man. I either cuss or sound like some southern gangster, or both. Ya get what this crop duster’s throwin’ down?

-PEDRO. (mic drop)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 6:23 am

    Interesting, interesting. So how do you really feel about it?

  2. March 1, 2012 7:55 am

    I love Pedro posts! I love all the posts, of course, (even though I, too, think dolls are kinda creepy), but sometimes these ones just make my day. Janeway knows, indeed. 🙂

  3. The Oldest Sister permalink
    March 1, 2012 9:03 am

    Ahh, Janeway, she’s the best of them all. Pedro, you’re weird but hilarious, it’s like reading the Onion.

  4. March 1, 2012 4:44 pm

    I think the the Abraham Lincoln quote may be my favorite ever.

  5. March 1, 2012 7:36 pm

    A blog is like reality TV – but much, much better because we edit ourselves.

    I’m now wondering if Pedro is asking Molly how many people have read her post – I bet she can’t resist asking. (And now I’ve posted this comment – will she do her best to appear disinterested and not ask Molly, but try to sneak a look at the stats when Molly isn’t looking? We’re on to you – there’s no hiding in the interwebs.

  6. March 6, 2012 6:27 am

    Brilliant – love the Abraham Lincoln quote!
    I think I may soon be following Pedro too.

So, what do you think?

