Skip to content

The Just Right Tshirt

February 10, 2012
by

As a follow up to the Goldilocks t-shirt, here is the second version that I cut out at the same time as the first. This time in a much stretchier knit. I’m not going to do another review because my thoughts are still the same, the pattern fits great as long as you use a nice stretchy knit (not a double knit). I tried to do the sleeve piecing on this one, but turns out either the sleeves are meant for scrunching up at your wrists or German people have ridiculously long arms (I’m assuming the latter), so I shortened them (which actually worked out in my favor because the first attempt at hemming the sleeves was bad).

Bad pictures today because I forgot to take them when the sun was up, oh well, photo manipulation it is.

Obviously I made no attempt at matching stripes (I didn't last time either, it just worked out), I call it artistically skewed.

And for your reference, on the right is the original sleeve length (I must have made a cutting error) and on the left is the sleeve extension piece folded in half (which is how I finished the "cuffs").

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 8:08 am

    I find that Burda patterns have sleeves that are far too long for me as well. I really like the mismatched stripes at the back – definitely looks like a design choice.

  2. February 10, 2012 12:14 pm

    Jersey tops are fab! I’ll be starting my Renfrew top this weekend I’ve decided so I might have something similar soon!

  3. February 10, 2012 7:37 pm

    I’m convinced Germans have really long arms in my experience. 🙂

  4. February 11, 2012 2:39 am

    Don’t think I’ve ever sewn a Burda pattern with long sleeves. I like mine oversized but those are ludicrous! I think the way you did the cuff with them works really well. And I’m envious of your ability to pose in photos while looking natural!

  5. February 11, 2012 6:33 am

    Oh I love this- and Catherine is right- you pose so well!

    • February 11, 2012 9:20 am

      Haha, thanks guys! I actually took and edited these pictures right before bed so in my tired delirium I decided the sillier poses were best 🙂 Pedro told me I take weird pictures of myself…

  6. February 12, 2012 6:23 pm

    Love the sleeves too – I keep lengthening mine but not enough, so will have to try this to get the slouchy/comfy folded back jobbie just right.

So, what do you think?

