Skip to content

Procrastination and such

January 27, 2012

Just so you all know why it’s been so doll-centric around here, I have been doing sewing-related activities. I finally sewed all the way through my cut project queue over the winter break from school, so then I started cutting the next batch of queued projects out. I hate cutting out new projects. And to make it worse, this time around I was going to have to cut out the wedding dress.

Spot "helping" me cut out the lining

I procrastinate when I have a project like this to work on, especially if the fabric is super expensive. To make it worse I decided to start by cutting out the lining first and I learned that bemberg rayon is crazy slippery. So that made me even more scared to cut the silk.

"What's going on Molly? Why are all my tuna cans in the sewing room?"

But I finally did it today, with Spot’s help of course, and guess what! It wasn’t that bad, in fact it wasn’t all that slippery!  I did buy brand new, nice scissors and used thin, sharp pins and cans of tuna as weights. Next up the sewing, eventually, but I’m really not as worried about sewing it all up because I did the muslin and know exactly how to do it all already.

Spot does not discriminate between cheap and expensive fabric, she will sleep on all of it.

Changing positions when I left the room for a few minutes.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 11:10 am

    Oh cats. Mine also shows no distinction between snaggable silk and a thrifted bedsheet.

  2. January 27, 2012 2:36 pm

    Your cat’s having great fun with that project even if you’re not at the moment! Wow a wedding dress! I would be scared as well!

  3. January 27, 2012 3:04 pm

    Spot is so helpful!

  4. January 27, 2012 8:39 pm

    tissue paper is a great cat magnet

    • January 28, 2012 7:39 am

      She’s more interested in stealing the pins and sitting on fabric, but she does like to chew on my pattern pieces.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s a long story, but it involves Swedish fish, forks, and a fake plant… « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

