Skip to content

Sunday Doll Post: Steampunk Girl

January 22, 2012
by

A style I really admire is Steampunk, but it’s definitely something I have no real need for. When I was picking out fabric for this outfit, I didn’t really realize it would look steampunkish, but it totally does and I love it much more because (subconsiously inspired by Steampunk Addy?). This is made from a free pattern for the Addy doll’s clothes using the school suit and blouse set. This is probably my favorite doll make so far because of the fabric combination. The construction isn’t amazing, but I never really strive for perfection, especially in doll clothes.

You can't see the blouse fabric very well here (also used for the jacket lining), but it's a safari animal print. Now I just need some awesome brass accessories and boots.

This pattern is very much in the Zouave style, adapted for women, that was very popular around the time of the Civil War.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 10:36 am

    I’m so glad I inspired you! Steampunk rules – one doll at a time!

  2. January 22, 2012 12:17 pm

    I always loved Addies clothing best- especially the sleeves- very cool!

  3. January 22, 2012 4:09 pm

    No one really *needs* steampunk, but it sure is awfully fun! My concession is only using old clothing I wasn’t going to wear anyway to make my steampunk outfit. That way I don’t feel quite so bad about having a random costume!

Trackbacks

  1. Procrastination and such « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

