Skip to content

January Pattern

January 13, 2012
by

I always qualify for free shipping when I buy textbooks from Amazon twice a year (because they’re ridiculusly expensive! Seriously, I just spent $300 on TWO books and that was the cheapest I found them new), so I like to get something fun along with them. Last semester I bought Twinkle Sews, haven’t made any of the patterns yet but I have the fabric picked out in my head for one (that counts as progress, right?). This semester, and also counting as my January pattern purchase, I bought the BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook.

I know you're checking out that composite material book, it looks pretty sweet!

There isn’t a whole lot of content in the book that I’m interested in, mostly some very brief sewing instructions. But Allison Kelly’s couple pages on designing from tested patterns was nice. Really I bought it for the patterns and the member created variations. I really don’t like the way that BurdaStyle sewed the original patterns, but looking at the technical drawings they have some real potential (it helps that they have so many different manipulations of the pattern already pictured for you). I’d like to start with the blouse pattern and make it button up or do the sweet heart inset neckline tutorial by community member Yana Gorbulsky (member name supayana, sorry I couldn’t find a link to her sketch on the site 😦 ), since I am way more likely to wear blouses in real life than dresses (but some of the dresses are super cute too!).

I also really like the bag pattern, and I’m not much for sewing purses usually. But this one looks easy and casual, I think my older sister might like one (possibly for christmas next year, since I think she felt a little left out that I made Pedro such an awesome coat).

Have any of you gotten this book? I’m thinking of buying the Colette Handbook in the fall.

~Molly

P.S. – I have a super awesome surprise for next week! Pedro is going to become a semi-regular contributor!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 8:28 am

    I have Twinkle Sews, too- I love the styles, but I’m afraid of the sizing being too hard for my limited skills to change- darn that Tiny Twinkle!

    • January 16, 2012 9:46 am

      That’s too bad, although some of the styles look like they could be easy to grade

  2. January 13, 2012 1:08 pm

    textbooks are so expensive, my postgrad & MA were in law so the books were crazy expensive too – and the ones that were Irish law specific you literally had no choice where to buy them, at least the EU or UK ones you could browse online.
    Anywho, I don’t have the Burda book, I have a Burda profile but its pretty much inactive, theres something I don’t like about burda in general that I’ve never managed to put my finger on, but I’ve seen some nice versions of patterns in the book popping up.

    • January 16, 2012 9:41 am

      I have the same feeling with Burdastyle, they seem kindof … i don’t know, exclusive, for lack of a better word. I don’t like the way they run they’re “contests,” they don’t actually include everyone that submits a creation (I complained about that on their Halloween contest last year and they actually changed it to include everyone, cause I was super pissed in 2010 when I actually tried to enter but apparently “didn’t make it”)
      But I like all the member variations of this book, I probably just won’t be participating in their site anymore. Especially now that I have my own blog.

  3. January 13, 2012 2:20 pm

    My daughter also has to buy expensive text books, and has found the Book Depository to be the best, so far. They are a heap cheaper for the ones she needs – sport science based – and their delivery has always been within 4 days – and we live in Australia, so that is saying something!!!
    As for picking up sewing books for myself, that is on my list for this year. But I do love roaming a book store myself, picking up and flicking through the books rather than buying them sight unseen. I need to start taking note of recommendations, such as yours…

    • January 16, 2012 9:43 am

      I’ve actually given up trying to buy used textbooks over the internet, you never know what you’re going to get and one bad experience (and several by my friends) makes me stay away. Amazon is still cheaper than the university bookstore.
      As for sewing books, I totally agree. A new bookstore in town actually had this one on the shelf to I browsed through it a bit first.

  4. January 14, 2012 8:49 pm

    I didn’t even know you had another sister! and yes, I think there is now an obligation to sew something awesome for her too 🙂
    Thanks for your comment… actually Burda 8071 has THREE bodice variations, the third one I’ve never even used once…!

So, what do you think?

