Skip to content

Sunday Doll Post: Gathered Mumu

January 8, 2012
by

Every once in a while I feel the urge to sew something quick and dirty. My dolls are the perfect outlet for that feeling because I can make them anything from simple dresses out of old scraps to semi-elaborate historical outfits (the historical clothes are really fun when they’re finished because I love clothes inspired by past fashions but they’re not practical in my real life, so this way I can still make them and not feel bad about wasting my time and effort on something that will never get worn. I did at one point last summer seriously consider making a Civil War era dress for myself because of all the 150th anniversary inspiration around, but I came to my senses after thinking about all the undergarments and yards of fabric required). And since this is a blog about things I make, I figured why not post them? If this isn’t your thing or you think it’s “creepy” (like Pedro does), just skip these posts, I’ll keep them short.

First up, a simple cute gathered drawstring dress using a free pattern and made out of an old tierd skirt.

Not the best picture quality, but hey, it's winter. Also since I used pre-gathered fabric, without the ribbon, the dress has ridiculous mumu proportions.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 6:58 am

    That is my favoriet doll to sew for- too cute!

  2. January 8, 2012 8:12 am

    I’ve been looking to buy an 18″ doll for exactly the same reasons as you – I’d like to sew certain garments but know I’d never wear them so I like the idea of making them doll sized. The biggest obstacle has been finding a doll that doesn’t cost an absolute fortune.

    • January 8, 2012 8:35 am

      I have found a couple cheap dolls similar in size to these sold at craft and toy stores (Springfield Dolls or Journey Girls are a couple), I’m not sure where outside of the US but you can probably find them online. It’s actually amazing the choices that are out there if you look, I found these just by looking around for more doll sized sewing patterns.

  3. January 9, 2012 7:06 am

    Thanks for posting this! I have many saved remnants for AG clothes!

  4. January 9, 2012 11:15 pm

    Hmmm, cute!
    I really like your blue dress in the previous post. That looks like a lovely easy to wear, and flattering style too.

So, what do you think?

