Skip to content

2012 Sew-olution

December 30, 2011
tags:
by

I'm usually terrible at personal "resolutions", but I'm much more confident this year...

I love sewing patterns, as I’m sure most all people who sew their own clothing do. But I have too many, waaaaaaaaay too many. So many I’m not going to tell you the number (yes, I do know the exact number because I keep a digital archive using Evernote) and it’s well into the hundreds. Every once in a while I go through and purge some patterns, but they always end up sitting in a box in the corner. Then after a couple months I go through the box again and decide again if they’re worth keeping (sometimes patterns get a second chance after all). I can’t give them to my mom because no one in my family is the same size as me anymore and I’m hesitant to give them to Good Will or Salvation Army because I’m not sure that they wouldn’t just throw them away (irrational fear?). Anyways…

This post has two points.

First, my “sew-olution.” Like a resolution, but about sewing, get it?

I’m going to limit myself to only ONE new pattern per month.

I can put as many patterns on my wish list as I want, but I can’t buy them all like I normally would. To those of you outside the U.S.A. this might sound like no big deal, but around these parts we have chain fabric stores that sell Big 4 patterns at massive discounts (I’m talking $0.99 for something that is supposed to be sold for $20). But these sales happen every month, or at least every other month, so I’m never really missing out on a great deal if I skip a sale (except for Kwik Sew and Burda envelope patterns, those only go on sale like twice per year, but they still go on sale so I can just plan ahead. Alana at Lazy Stitching just posted a sweet flow chart to help reduce pattern impulses too.). I have 3 exceptions to my rule already:

  1. I’m still going to get my Burda magazine every month along with the one new pattern, because you can’t buy back issues or even off the shelf here… and I love them too much.
  2. I plan on buying at least one pattern book (such as Burdastyle’s Sewing Handbook) and that comes with multiple patterns, but it’s only one purchase/item so it counts as just one.
  3. If someone like Sewaholic comes out with a new pattern and has a free shipping sale, I’m taking it. Shipping adds a lot to an already expensive (for me) pattern. If this happens, and I end up with two new patterns in one month, the second will just count towards the next month so it all evens out.

Now the second point, I need to get rid of some of my patterns and who better to give them to (if anybody actually wants them) then you who (presumably) sews! I don’t want to do a drawing/giveaway, I’ll just post pictures and descriptions of all the patterns and if you want one or more let me know. This will take some time to do, so I will post a link later to a set on flickr of them all, so have a look through once I get that up. Otherwise I’ll probably try giving them to a charity thrift store in town.

~Molly

P.S. I’m totally ready and prepared for this resolution, but here is a great article about why big resolutions are stupid in general. This is why I’ve never tried to make big changes in January.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 7:19 am

    I’m going to have to lie down in a darkened room- the idea of not buying patterns or restricting myself or letting go of some of my precious hoarde is too much for my greedy little soul! Yo uare a better person than I- well, I knew that already, but still, oh!

  2. December 30, 2011 10:48 am

    ohhhh…I hear you on the pattern buying. But I just love them so….

  3. December 31, 2011 8:07 am

    nice plan – and i had to chuckle at you having an electronic archive of your patterns 🙂

  4. December 31, 2011 5:12 pm

    Aren’t patterns entertainment?
    I have too many also,but not buying them sounds very difficult.

  5. December 31, 2011 7:06 pm

    I have my patterns in a database with the photos on flickr. That makes it easy to see the, um, shocking quantity, but also easier to focus on sewing the ones I haven’t used, which I hope to do this coming year. I do like fresh beginnings. We all need them.

  6. January 1, 2012 12:50 am

    Oh my you’re good. I have decided never to do new year resolutions because I haven’t the will power to see them through. I know some of my limits you see. Well, at the moment anyway. I think. Ask me again next year.

    I wish you the strength to figure out which patterns to put on the out list and which not to, cos I’m with kbenco – patterns are entertainment and I’m getting more and more hooked.

  7. January 2, 2012 7:13 pm

    Y’know, that’s why I decided I’d give a one-year try to Burda Magazine ONLY. It’s cheaper than buying any of the big 4 on their cheapest sales for the number of patterns I get in each issue. I have a the same pattern stash issue, only mine is not documented, and I do have a lot of 80’s and 90’s patterns from specific designers that I really like. That said, I’ll be keeping an eye out here for any new-to-me patterns that may be leaving your house…… 🙂

  8. January 3, 2012 1:56 am

    Hi!
    Thanks for your very excellent velvet ironing tips! I haven’t tried it out yet, but it sounds very clever indeed. I’ll let you know how it works.

    Hahaha I’m the same with fabric as you are with patterns. I have been trying to use up my stash lately… but there is always need for more!

Trackbacks

  1. The Great Pattern Purge « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. May Pattern « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  3. 2013 Sew-olutions Abound! « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

