Skip to content

2011: The Rundown

December 28, 2011

After nearly a full year of blogging about sewing and the like, it’s time to show off how awesome my counting and graph making abilities are! Everyone loves a good end of year bar graph.

First, a month by month comparison. It’s obvious I was sick of school after I graduated in May so most of that month was spent sewing, but the summer time is always my most productive… for sewing that is. December looks deceptively productive, but actually most of that is just crafty projects.

Next up, a comparison of the types of projects I completed. I don’t know why I sew so many dresses, I don’t wear them that often. But I’m pretty sure for nearly every dress made, an unwanted one was taken out of my closet, so it’s all good. I did try to focus on tops purposefully since I wear jeans and tops ALL the time, this theme will most likely continue into 2012.

And finally, the pattern companies I sewed from. I have the most patterns from Burda, Butterick, McCall’s, Simplicty, and Vogue because they’re the most easily accessible where I live (well, not Burda but that’s subscription) so it’s obvious that those would be the patterns I end up sewing from the most. I have found several new independent designers that I’d like to sew from more next year (Pattern Runway, Salme, Victory Patterns).

That was fun, wasn’t it? Maybe not for you, but for definitely for me.

~Molly

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 6:35 am

    Love it! I might have to borrow this idea 🙂

  2. December 28, 2011 8:22 am

    I love the pattern company graph! Very interesting to see it visually. My school follows some data model program so we are always having to put things in graphs.

  3. December 28, 2011 8:37 am

    35 items of clothing? You were very productive in 2011!

  4. December 28, 2011 1:50 pm

    Oohhh, how clever! This idea does really put you work into context after a year – love it. 11 dresses – that is epic…did you have a favourite out of all your sewing????

  5. December 29, 2011 2:29 am

    Very interesting, and a unique way of reviewing a year of sewing! Well done on a very productive 2011, and here’s wishing you an equally productive 2012!

  6. December 29, 2011 4:35 am

    I like graphs too. Eight things in one month? Awesome. I manage maybe one garment a month 🙂

  7. December 29, 2011 10:14 pm

    I totally dig a nice bar graph. 🙂

  8. January 4, 2012 10:32 am

    Bar graphs are such a good way to visually summarize all the information in an easy to digest format…that’s what I always tell my students anyway! I love that you’ve applied that here. I think my bar graph would look pretty boring, with just a giant column of dresses.

  9. January 4, 2012 2:58 pm

    i love this post!! bar graphs are awesome

  10. January 6, 2012 2:55 pm

    Yes, I think it’s fun too. I like it when my brain feels organized.. It’ll be fun for you to compare this year’s (2012) graphs to those from 2011. I think? I’ve done three years of graphs.

    You sewed a nice variety of patterns.

So, what do you think?

