Skip to content

Fox Scarf

December 26, 2011
by

Since I featured my sister (“Pedro”) when I made her a coat, my mom asked if I wanted to feature something she had made.

This scarf is one of the craft projects from the November 2011 Burda, they call it a wolf but we thought it’s face looked more foxish.

Mom made several of these as presents for people, I think my dad even requested one!

I played around with paint a little trying to get the fox/wolf into his natural habitat!

And just a quick little pattern review from interviewing my mom:

Pattern: Collar 177 11/2011

Pattern Description: This wild-looking collar is made from fulled wool loden cloth and decorated with stitched-on wolf’s head. It makes a great alternative to fur. As well as looking impressive, it provides protection against rain, cold, ice and snow!

Pattern Sizing: One size fits all

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I think it looked mostly like the picture when I was done.  There are some obvious differences.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I did not follow the directions, but I did read them a month or so ago once.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I worry that the fox/wolf head is not going to be very securely attached.  Its just hand sewn on.

Fabric Used:  I used ‘watercolor’ brown fleece (body) and black fleece for the head.  The brown is appropriate as it is not all solid brown, but rather somewhat swirl/spotchy.  They used a wool.  Fleece will be a warmer/softer scarf.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Their tail had some wispy aspects (if I remember right) and I liked that.  I ended up zig-zaging some gray/brown yarn onto a piece of bias tape, then sewing that into the tail seam so the yarn was on the outside after it was turned right-side-out.    I think adding the yarn helped the fox/wolf look a little bit more foxy/wolfy.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I cut out three and will make all three.  I would recommend it – easy, fun idea.  One of the fox/wolf scarves is for my friend’s 6 year old daughter,Signe.  I think she will like it.

~Molly and Mom

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 7:55 am

    way too cute 🙂

  2. December 26, 2011 10:51 am

    I especially love the tail!!

  3. December 26, 2011 9:45 pm

    Awesome!

  4. December 31, 2011 5:50 pm

    This. Is. Hilarous. LOVE IT! 🙂

  5. January 4, 2012 10:31 am

    Hahaha I love this! So hilarious that you tried to post it in its natural habitat! I think the fox face is much better than the wolf.

  6. January 6, 2012 2:50 pm

    Awesome scarf! Definitely more fox than wolf. Maybe European wolves look different…

Trackbacks

  1. Three Wise Owls! « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

