Skip to content

Book Score 2011

December 20, 2011
by

I went home this past weekend to do Hanukkah/Christmas early with my family (going to spend the actual day with T’s family) and got some awesome books (and some awesome pictures of my sister modeling her new coat, so keep your eyes open for that!). Most of them I specifically asked for because I’ve found that I won’t get the ones I actually want unless I hand out a short list from my amazon wish list. I’m really excited about all of them.

  • To Engineer is Human is about how failure (and success, but not quite as much) played a part in how human’s learned to design and engineer things. Being an engineer, it sounds really awesome!
  • The I Hate to Cook Book is a just what it sounds like, a book for people who hate to cook… like me. I started reading it and it’s really funny along with having nice, simple recipes.
  • Dating Fabrics: A Color Guide 1950-2000 is the book I wasn’t expecting, Mom said it was really cheap on sale somewhere. I haven’t looked at it too much but it mostly just looks, at first glance, like tons of pictures of amazing fabric. Fabric that you’ll probably never be able to find in your life time ever again…
  • And last but not least, Famous Frocks! There are several new pattern books out, and I would have been super excited about any of them. This one aims to recreate 10 iconic dresses worn by people like Bette Davis, Twiggy, Jackie O., and Stevie Nicks. Amazon had some bad reviews of it, mostly because people were expecting EXACT replicas of the famous dresses, instead the authors made the dresses a little simpler and more modern. I’m ok with that. The second major complaint was that there were only line drawings and illustrations of the dresses, no photographs of the made up patterns, but if you read the introduction (and in the references, but that link doesn’t seem to work) it gives a website were they’ve posted some photographs. It is actually a flickr page and not all the dresses are there, but most. So the web help they imply is disappointing/semi non-existent because the link to a blog they supposedly have in the reference section doesn’t exist, but at least there are a couple pictures. If anybody is interested I can post pictures of the 10 pattern line drawings.

I might buy the Burdastyle handbook for myself sometime next year, but more on my “plans” for next year later.

~Molly

ps – I got a desk top computer too! I feel like a grown up now with my fancy giant monitor and wireless key board.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 12:43 pm

    i was flicking through that famous frocks book in a shop the other day!
    and even for a non engineer that first one sounds good
    looking forward to seeing your sister’s coat 🙂

  2. December 22, 2011 4:38 am

    I think that second-from-the-top book was written for me too!

So, what do you think?

