Skip to content

Holiday Ornaments 2011

December 15, 2011
by

The holiday season is okay, I’m not one of those crazy people that cover every square foot of their property in string lights or creepy blowup Santas. But I LOVE ornaments. They cute and tiny, come in all shapes and sizes, and you can make them yourself!

They took a lot of effort so I just assembly lined it kindof and made 8 (obviously not all pictured here)

My Grandma (Grandma is becoming a popular feature in my sewing history it seems) used to make special ornaments every year for my cousins and me. Since she passed, maybe even before that when she didn’t have the energy to do it anymore, I started making the ornaments every year. Since I started college, I’ve had to cut back and only made ornaments for my younger cousins that hadn’t left home yet. Now it’s just my two younger girl cousins and my nephew. That makes it much easier on me, grad schools sucks your time away!

And it gave me an excuse to buy Mod Pod! Which I used to paper mache and the final finish.

Improvised drying rack

I started pinning ornaments that I liked on pinterest (see the side bar for a link to my pins!) really liked this one for it’s seussian colors and style. And it was fairly easy to make, I used cheap plastic balls instead of glass though for more durability.

Spot loved them too, one of the original ornaments (not paper mached) has become one of her new favorite toys.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kristinekroken permalink
    December 16, 2011 1:51 pm

    Cute pictures 🙂

  2. December 16, 2011 5:59 pm

    I love the idea of handmade ornaments for the kids each year and your family tradition is wonderful. My sister has been sending my kids a beautiful ornament every Christmas and I haven’t quite organised myself to do the same for her little ones.

    I’m glad to have found your blog – how you find the time to do everything I don’t know! I remember how uni ate time and I was only an undergrad!

  3. December 21, 2011 7:14 am

    These are really adorable. I have been wanting to make ornaments for ages. Next year I need to actually *plan* on doing some. Christmas totally snuck up on me this year.

Trackbacks

  1. Utilitarian Clothing and Mr. Potato Head « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. 13 Blue Doves | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

