Skip to content

Excited for BurdaStyle December.

November 14, 2011
tags:
by

Full previews are up for the December issue of BurdaStyle and I’m pretty excited. Want to know which ones I like? Too bad, I’m going to tell you anyways:

  • Holiday dress 107

I don't know if I'll do the frilly sleeves but they do look really cute, I'm just not that much of a cutesy type.

  • Flirty dress 102

This just looks incredibly comfortable and cute (not very seasonally appropriate unless it's a nighty, but they list it as a dress)

  • Drop shoulder shirt 109

I like loose fitting shirts alot and the drop shoulder seam is interesting. Not going to make it in leather though...

  • Front pleated skirt 124

I like pleated skirts but the pleats always get messed up in the back after sitting on them all day, so this skirt could be nice in that way.

  • Trench coat 118

Probably won't get around to making this any time soon but I like that it looks like a trench coat but not covered in tons of details at the same time.

~Molly

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 7:50 am

    They look interesting. I like the skirt and the second dress. I love the trench but not sure what that asymmetrical detail is about. I think i would have to have that front panel on both sides!

    • November 15, 2011 2:05 pm

      That front panel used to be called a shoulder guard, it was common in men’s wool trenches and hunting coats. Its original purpose was to cushion the shoulder that you rested your rifle on. So, in that way, you shot with one arm so…one guard. It was an important detail that they kept in when women appropriated that piece of menswear.

  2. November 14, 2011 10:38 am

    I love them all- providing the top isn’t really being made of a diner table cloth….

  3. November 14, 2011 7:06 pm

    I think 107 is my favorite of that issue. I love the Tall version with the contrast midriff and contrast topstitching, super cute detail I might integrate to the dress (pink and green or orange and red come to mind, for some reason).

  4. November 15, 2011 1:59 pm

    Those first two dresses are amazing! And yes, that second one is definitely the wrong season if it ISN’T a nightie.

  5. November 16, 2011 2:05 am

    Oooh, that front pleated skirt has my name all over it. And I might have the right fabric in my stash – life is sweet!

  6. November 16, 2011 5:32 am

    Oh, love the trench coat! So bautiful! I am anxious to have the magazine in my hands …

  7. Nina permalink
    November 20, 2011 7:47 am

    I agree about the trench coat! The ones I see in store always have one thing that just botheres me… I guess with this pattern you could always add any details you’d want! And for coat sewing beginners (like me) this could be perfect to just get the basics right (and not worry about bound button holes! oy vey…).

So, what do you think?

