Skip to content

Sew Engineering

November 5, 2011
by

Sewing is not much different than engineering, you make a plan and then you build it.

I go to a school that is entirely devoted to science and engineering, but a lot of my friends don’t understand why I sew. They always say things like “your so creative!” But it’s not really creativity in my mind at all. I pick patterns that are right for my body type, I pick fabric that will work with that pattern, then I assemble a puzzle into a wearable garment. It fulfills me need to make useful things, which engineers do all the time. Sewing satisfies the design engineer in me, quick and dirty most of the time (it helps that no one’s life is in danger if you mess up when sewing, like it would if you messed up designing a building or bridge).

CarmenctaB just posted about a male engineering friend of hers that likes to sew Halloween costumes. His explanation of why he likes it so much is spot on.

To me, there is no difference in method, only material.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2011 10:13 am

    “(it helps that no one’s life is in danger if you mess up when sewing, like it would if you messed up designing a building or bridge)”
    Ha! I’ve had the same thought several times, hehe. It’s nice to be able to mold the space, no matter what the scale.

  2. November 5, 2011 6:38 pm

    Ha, I feel the same way. Sewing is more of a science than an art to me. But I recognize for many (most?) people it’s an artistic process instead of a scientific one. Maybe I need to loosen up!?…nah.

  3. February 17, 2014 12:09 pm

    I love your blog! I am also an engineer who loves to sew and design clothing based on sound mathematical and engineering principles.

So, what do you think?

