Skip to content

My Home

October 26, 2011
by

This is a sewing blog, but I mention other things about my life once in a while and my mom just sent me a link to a Smithsonian article about my home town. I just wanted to share it with you all that actually read my blog on a regular basis (cause I know there aren’t that many of you and I thank you for it!). I really do love my hometown, Lincoln, NE, and this is the perfect description of it. It’s written by a city girl who moved there after finding life in New York to be too stressful, and now that I haven’t lived there for 5 years I feel exactly the way she does. Lincoln is the perfect sized city, one of the major things I miss besides my family, not too big where it get’s scary or confusing to drive around downtown, but not too small that you feel like you live in the middle of no where (like I do a lot of the time here in Rapid City, SD). I miss that it’s a liberal, open minded city in the middle of a stereotypical conservative part of the country, but it doesn’t give off the feeling of being cocky about it. Everyone just is the way they are and that’s ok by us.

Sunset photo taken by my grandpa in central Nebraska

There aren’t any sewing bloggers that I know of anywhere in my vicinity, if there were it would be awesome to meet them (I get a little jealous of all the blogger meet ups people have in the big cities). There aren’t even many people that sew in my age group, so I get a little lonely posting things sometimes. This probably contributes to me not being the most exciting blogger. So I just wanted to share a little bit of me and my home, I don’t think I could have described Lincoln nearly as well. But I’m an engineer, not a journalist.

Farm kittens napping in cinder blocks

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 8:56 am

    I know what you mean about not finding many sewists in your small town. Richmond really isn’t that small, it is the capital of Virginia but I guess VA sewists just don’t blog. Your hometown sounds great and you definitely won me over with the farm kittens! Keep up the blog, I enjoy reading it.

  2. October 26, 2011 6:57 pm

    It’s your blog- write about whatever you want! I’d like to live in a big city, but only for a little while. Maybe a year or two. I love living in a small southern city. But I do get jealous of the blogger meet-ups! Not a lot of sewing bloggers in my neck of the woods, either.

  3. October 30, 2011 11:11 am

    i don’t know anyone else in real life that sews either, i’ve been contemplating going to a knitting group but the thought of just walking up to a bunch of strangers is so daunting… i’d love to meet others though!

    nice article you linked to too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Doll Post: Old Things! « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

