Skip to content

A Woven Tee

October 21, 2011

Sewing is my procrastination. So much more interesting than reading research papers and writing a research proposal. I bought this fabric when an online fabric store was having a going out of business sale, can’t remember the name of the shop. I wanted to buy 2 yards, but they only had 1 yard in stock and it was too awesome to pass up. So only having 1 yard I’ve been saving it for a while to find a pattern I could squeeze out of it. One of the sleeves is pieced together and I didn’t even try to cut out the facings (used bias tape instead, it’s a better finish anyways). I think it might be a little too loose, but it’s super comfortable and it actually looks better in the pictures than I thought it did in the mirror!

Pattern: Simplicity 2599

Pattern Description: Misses Tops With Trim Variation: Separate Patterns For B,C,D Cup Sizes

Pattern Sizing: 4-12, I cut a 10 which fits perfect through the shoulders and bust, but seems to get pretty baggy from there down. That’s definitely the way it’s supposed to be, but a drapier fabric would probably look better.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except I didn’t use any of those weird extra embellishments.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I barely had to look at them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it came out of only 1 yard and that it’s really comfortable but it’s a little shapeless. I also think the button closure in the back is kindof useless, the neckline is definitely wide enough to fit my head through.

Fabric Used: Heavy cotton

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t use the neck facings, I finished the neck with bias binding instead.

Would you sew it again? Maybe, it’s a good pattern but kindof boring.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I don’t need the different cup pieces, but for people that normally would have to do an FBA those extra pieces would be really helpful.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 6:04 pm

    catching up on some blog reading
    that material looks gorgeous – nice find and save 🙂
    and i’ve just seen your wedding dress muslin, its fabulous, looks amazing, you look brilliant in it – best of luck for when you’re sewing the real thing 🙂

  2. October 24, 2011 4:24 pm

    Very pretty – I really don’t think it’s boring. Much more interesting than a solid color t-shirt, anyway.

So, what do you think?

