Skip to content

SSS Week 5

October 1, 2011
by

9/25/11 – I was lazy and didn’t take a picture (was out late the night before with friends), and I kindof cheated a little and was only wearing a me-made jacket for like an hour. Oh well, it’s not like I take these challenges that seriously.

9/26/11 – I think I might be coming down with a head cold ūüė¶ I was exhausted after school today.

NL 6562

9/27/11 – These last days of the month will probably have some boring “outfits,” if you can even call them that, because I just don’t feel like I’ve got all my energy and I’m busy with school now. So here you get to see what happens when I just turn on the self timer to go off a bunch of times automatically while I’m packing my bag for the day.

yes, this is another kimono tee, I have billions it seems.

I just had to share this one with you too - Spot sticking her tongue out!

9/28/11 – I cheated a little again on Wednesday cause I was just wearing a me-made jacket for a bit when it was chilly in the morning, but I’m ok with that cause it was a¬†hectic¬†day. I was at school for 8 hours straight and missed lunch cause my professor wanted to test out the new load frame machine and crush some concrete cylinders.

Burda 107 5/2009

9/29/11 – I actually wore two outfits with me-mades Thursday, mostly just cause I was dinking around the house all morning and an hour before school, saw myself in the mirror and thought I looked dumb and changed. I’m only going to show you the better outfit cause the first one I was not feeling the love.

Burda Skirt 104 3/2009

9/30/11 – It really felt like a long month, why couldn’t August have been this long? Oh wait, August is technically 1 day longer… Anyways I got really bored with the constraints of Self-Stitched-September by the end. As I always do. Honestly I don’t know why I think these challenges are good for me, I know I can wear my me-mades, because I do all the time anyways. They make up half my¬†wardrobe¬†as it is! But I decided to put in the extra effort for the last day and wear my favorite dress – comfortable and awesome. I should make another one of these in a solid color.

V8379

And there you have it, another Self Stitched month. I like the idea of these, but I just feel like there could be some missing element to spice it up. Zoe said in her last post for Self Stitched September that she would only be doing one month total for next year and I think that’s a good idea. Personally I have no idea how to make it better, I just know it needs something. Does anyone else feel that way?

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 9:03 am

    I enjoyed it this time around because I was trying to be creative and fit in all those little dates in my photos. I think without that, though, I would have been bored with it by the end- not so much the wear self stitched things part, but the documenting part. I think it’s a really useful exercise because it makes me step out of the box and wear some of my things that I ordinarily would only wear once in a blue moon. And of course being a part of the community is great. Anyway, I think one month next year would be a good idea.
    Love that wrap dress! That makes me want to get out that last Burda mag and start tracing.

  2. October 1, 2011 10:40 am

    Well done for sticking at it. I enjoy reading everyone’s feedback and their honesty. I think the challenge should stay as it helps to focus the mind on sewing things that will be worn. One a year may be good but I think at least two would be good for summer and winter months. I liked how you ended on a high note with your favourite dress!

  3. October 4, 2011 4:01 am

    You had a great month, and you stuck to your pledge, which is fabulous… congratulations!
    I enjoyed it more this time around I think. I guess the photo taking is the biggest challenge for me as well. Also having to document each day is tiring, by the end you are dying for a day off!
    Here’s an extra challenge that may spice it up for you, next time try going *all* self-stitched. That will really add a degree of difficulty!
    I really love the wrap dress you wore on the last day. It is so flattering and stylish, you look really comfy too!

So, what do you think?

