Skip to content

Spring 2012 Fashion Shows

September 28, 2011
by

Not all sewer’s follow fashion week, but I just can’t help it, there’s so much good (and crazy) inspiration all jam packed into 2 or 3 weeks of the year. I tend to like the more “normal” presentations, things that are easy to imagine straight off the runway, for obvious reasons. And things that I am capable/have the patients to make myself. So here are some of my favorites that I’d like to copy:

Vena Cava:

Please oh please Vogue, make some patterns out of this collection!

Love the lines and the colors

Because they are all so awesome.

Twenty8Twelve:

A simple straight skirted dress with kimono sleeves and a tie collar = perfect

The whole collection was easy, breezy and elegant. This dress was the only thing I could pick out straight away that I would love to make and wear, but variations of quite a few other things there would be awesome too.

Elena Miro:

It is just me, or are these all plus size models? I think that’s awesome if they are because they all have amazing bodies and the clothes fit them to a t. And all the styles in this collection could be scaled for any size I think.

Great use of color blocking for a simple top

Matthew Williamson:

So remember my most resent creation the Rebecca Taylor drop waist dress? I want to try and frankenpattern  it with a classic shirt dress collar next time and this is almost exactly what I had in mind. I’m really into classic dress shirts made of drapy fabric right now.

Orla Kiely:

Cute and simple dresses

Alice+Olivia:

A perennial favorite, and this season is no exception.

Kelly Wearstler:

Most of this collection I wouldn’t wear but it’s just to fun not to share.

I have more tags from collections I liked on my pinterest page.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 7:25 am

    Oh, you did find some gems- I’m going to have to get back on style.com now!

  2. September 28, 2011 9:27 am

    Yes, it seems Elena Miro is a plus-size designer in Italy. I think there was some controversy about her line not being allowed to show in Milan’s fashion week. http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/elena-miro

  3. September 29, 2011 7:32 am

    Love your selections!!! I am all over that Vena Cava show, love everything in it!!!

    But that Elena Miro two tone fancy safari dress is just unbelievable, it kills!

So, what do you think?

