Skip to content

Summer Essentials Round Up

September 6, 2011
by

The summer is coming to a close with the start of the school semester and the weather already cooling off (though around here it’s not guaranteed to stay cool all fall) so the Summer Essentials Sew Along is technically over. I mostly just used the challenge to think about what I was going to sew this summer, but it made me realize something more – I don’t sew for the current season, I sew a lot of winter things in the summer and summer things in the winter. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that, it just didn’t help me follow through on some of the things I planned for the Sew Along.

Let’s recap!

Poolside Pretties: Fail. I didn’t reline my swimsuit like I planned. I’m going to have to nearly completely dissect it and that makes me a little nervous, but I think I can do it this winter.

Clam Diggers & Co.: Completed, but a fail. I made my first pair of jeans and I did a really good job sewing them, but they just don’t fit well enough. The waist band is too tight and too high. But because of this I’ve figured out that the distance from my waist to my crotch is short, which explains why skirts that are supposed to sit at or just below the natural waist are very high waisted on me. I haven’t figured out how to resolve that yet for this jeans pattern, but I’ve got a couple other pants patterns I want to try out in the form of shorts (another out of season project).

M5894

Sweet & Sassy Skirts: Negative. I came to the conclusion that I have more skirts than I need right now, so I’m taking a break from sewing them.

The Sundress: Success! Yes, one thing that actually turned out the way it was supposed to! I love this dress and need to make some more, maybe in wool for winter layering with some different neckline variations.

Burda 108 5/2011

Though I still plan on making this dress sometime, but I probably won’t get to it this winter because of my wedding dress.

B5242

Tees, Tunics & Blouses: Win number two! I can never have enough me-made tops. I finished one of the tops planned and have the other cut out and ready to go… sometime.

M2222

S5451

Those Summer Nights: Nope. Didn’t make it there… yet. But I still need this cute little hoody and once I make it I’m sure it will get a lot of wear.

V1071

So there you have it. I guess if you just look at my completion rate this wouldn’t look like it went very well, but I also sewed some things not on this list like my winter coat. Basically, I just sew what I feel like sewing at that time from my queue.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 11:25 pm

    Well done on your sewing successes! I need to get more organised too; my sewing seems to follow either random whims, or filling gaps. A list sounds like a good idea, if I could ever make one…

  2. September 7, 2011 1:01 pm

    I discovered your blog via Catherine Daze’s! What fun reading through your posts. And I’m with you – I usually sew up what inspires me at the moment and never really have a “plan”. The exception to that is DD3’s sewing for this past summer season. She chose, I sewed!

  3. September 7, 2011 11:31 pm

    That Simplicity 5451 … the styling makes me shudder, but secretly I love the emphasis on time and success, so 80´s! And I love the Pavement dress, that Burda pattern has been in the back of my mind since I saw it.

So, what do you think?

