Skip to content

Embroidery Doodles

August 30, 2011
by

So I mentioned earlier that I bought a book called Doodle Stitching, a beginners guide to embroidery with some really cute little designs to stitch up. I’ve been wanting to find something I fun and crafty I can easily do while watching tv in the living room and embroidery really fits the bill because it doesn’t take up much space and I already had a lot of the tools (and the ones I didn’t have were very cheap!). I first thought of embroidery when I was last at my grandpa’s farm for our family reunion, my grandma used to do some embroidery and cross stitching way back when (think bright rainbow colored wall art with words like “LOVE” and “LAUGH” embroidered in a very 70s style type font, I’ll have to get some pictures) and I’ve always thought they were fun decorations.

I started with the first design/project in the book, just a sampler of all the stitches described, but I just did it on some scrap fabric because I don’t care much for the actual projects in the book. The embroidery designs are super cute and versatile, but the projects are not anything I would make, too… crafty, if you know what I mean. It’s by no means perfect, but that was the  point of this first project – to just learn all the stitches. So now I know which stitches I like the best, which are hard (I’m looking at you french knot!) and which I just don’t really care for.

I’ve also found some cool modern embroidery designers such as Sublime Stitching and Aimee Ray (author of the book I own) has another book out with over 400 more cute designs – though I’ve already found that I don’t much like trying to trace the designs onto fabric, even with carbon paper.

All in all, I call it a success. Now I just need to decide what else can be embroidered that might actually be useful…

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 4:41 pm

    Cool! I’d love to learn. But yes, what can be embroidered and also useful?

  2. August 31, 2011 3:58 am

    well, you can embroider lots of things that are useful… I used to embroider grub roses as a border on ordinary hand-towels which really smartens them up beyond the ordinary. They make nice gifts to go in the powder room…

  3. September 3, 2011 9:38 pm

    That’s a really neat book – I’ve gotten it from the library and actually bought it for my sister-in-law. I love to embroider but also shy away from making a wall hanging. I need to look for more ways to embellish the clothes I make.

  4. Sarah Helene permalink
    March 23, 2016 2:54 pm

    Lovely stitches on your sample floral embroidery project, Molly! Great colors. Oh my, French knots! I had trouble with these when adding floral embroidery to a gathered skirt for Molly, American Girl doll that I sewed for my great niece 7 years ago. Sarah in Minneapolis

So, what do you think?

