Skip to content

Self Stitched September

August 17, 2011
by

I, Molly of Toferet’s Empty Bobbin, sign up as a participant of Self-Stitched-Sept ’11. I endeavour to wear at least one hand made garment each day for the duration of September 2011′

I don’t think that Zo will ever stop hosting Self-Stitched months. They are really a great idea, especially for beginning seamsters or seamsters who don’t show off their talents enough (as in letting their handmades out of the closet). I did it twice before, but sat the last round out because I got a little bored of it personally. Over 50% of my clothes are already hand made and nearly always have been because before I sewed my own things, my mom and grandma sewed for me. So it really isn’t a challenge for me.

The challenge I’m adding to it then is to wear more skirts and dresses. I have tons more than I wear and I don’t stop making them because they’re fun! The major reason I attribute to not wearing my skirts (besides that my legs get a little sweaty and stick together … too much info I know, I’ll get some bike shorts): I study at an engineering and science school where 75% of the student body are male. The girls mostly just fit right in with the boys too, we’re not a lady like bunch if you get my drift. Honestly it’s one of the top rated engineering colleges in the country and there’s a reason for it – it’ll kick you in the head and butt if you don’t keep pace. So there’s not much time for looking pretty.

But I’m a graduate student now, which means less class hours, more intense homework, teaching a lab class, but no commitment to student organizations which took up a lot of time. So, my official addition to the above statement of purpose:

I will wear at least two skirts or dresses per week, but I will allow myself to change into clothes that are possibly not me-made when working in the lab.

I added that last bit because, as I mentioned above, I’ll be teaching a lab on campus 3 days a week this semester. I am required to wear long pants and close toed shoes in said lab because I’ll be teaching undergrad students how to make and test concrete. And I don’t want any concrete ruining my dresses! Maybe for fun, if I ever get really dirty, I’ll post a picture of that aftermath haha!

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 3:16 pm

    haha the concrete picture had come up in the reader page before i clicked through, was wondering what the connection was going to be 🙂

So, what do you think?

