Skip to content

Straight From The Picnic Blouse

August 15, 2011
by

If only I had a BBQ coming up, this would be the perfect top.

Now that I’ve finished this blouse, the style looks straight out of the 1940s to me. I’ve had this pattern for a while just waiting to find the right fabric. I loved the red version on the cover so much, I don’t think anything but fabric like that would be perfect, but this checked cotton is really just as good. I LOVE the colors. Unfortunately the fit is off on the sleeves and through out nearly the entire sewing process I had to do a lot of easing to get the pieces to fit together. I find that really odd too because it’s a Nancy Zieman pattern, they’re supposed to have better fit, but this pattern is drafted pretty badly! Sometimes I think pattern drafters at the Big 4 companies go to happy hour on their lunch breaks.

Anyways, on to the review in more detail…

Pattern: M6122

Pattern Description: Tops A, B, C have darts, peplum and front button closures; top A is sleeveless, lined with fabric sash; tops B, C have bias cut front, button placket and stitched hems; top B has cap sleeves; top C has three-quarter sleeves with slit.

Pattern Sizing: 6-12, I cut a 10 but it ended up a bit looser than I expected.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, and now that I look closer at the model photo I think she has some of the same fit issues I do, mostly pulling at the sleeves.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were very easy to follow, and I actually did this time because I’ve never made and invisible button placket before. But it got annoying that every 2 or 3 steps they tried to tell you how long the steps were supposed to take and the timing was very very generous, IMO.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the style, the collar and peplum make it very 40s feeling. But the fit is a little looser than expected and the fit on the sleeves is really bad. The armscye is too deep and the cap sleeves reach down too far, so when I raise my arms any amount at all the shoulders bunch up uncomfortably. It probably wouldn’t be too hard to fix if you were at all handy at drafting.

Fabric Used: Cotton shirting

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? No, not unless I made changes to the armscye and that probably won’t happen for quite a while.

Would you recommend it to others? Only if you are an experienced sewer and can deal with the pieces not going together smoothly and can fix pattern fit issues.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    August 15, 2011 7:50 pm

    Oooh, lovely shirt. and what fantastic plaid matching! I am very curious about the concealed buttons because I always sew from Burda and though they sometimes have concealed buttons, the instructions are quite mystifying.

  2. Angie permalink
    August 15, 2011 11:47 pm

    It´s a very pretty blouse! What do you think about a small waistbelt with a small bow, made of the same fabric (if something is left over)? So you can change the look if you want.
    Greetings from Germany
    Angie

So, what do you think?

