Skip to content

Redo Sorbetto

August 9, 2011
by

Colette’s free Sorbetto top pattern has been really popular in the sewing blogsphere, and for good reason. It’s a cute but simple top that can be modified any way you like, it’s comfortable and has a slightly sixties, boxy shape to it, and you can squeeze it out of small amounts of fabric especially if you leave off the front pleat.

This is my first attempt of the Sorbetto but I made it out of the skirt of one of my mom’s old 90s sack dresses. She had liked the fabric too much to just get rid of the whole dress when cleaning out her closet, so she cut off the skirt and saved it… which I then stole out of her stash, she didn’t care though. I was even able to reuse the original dress’s hem.

Pattern: 0003 Sorbetto

Pattern Description: This simple tank is quick to make, with no closures to sew and a loose, swingy fit inspired by the easy elegance of the early 60s. The edges are finished with bias tape, which you can make yourself or purchase, and a single box pleat runs down the front. Wear it with slim pants, jeans, a summer skirt, or make a loungewear set with our free Madeleine Mini-Bloomers pattern.

Pattern Sizing: 0-18, I made a size 4 which was a totally random guess but it worked out because if I’d gone any smaller I don’t think the arm holes would have been comfortable. As it is though, the fit is right on.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? I only followed the directions a little to see the recommended order of operations, but I did it my own way as usual by finishing the arm holes then sewing up the side seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s easy and breezy and allows for a full range of motion, and I like tops that are loose around the middle.

Fabric Used: The left over skirt of an old 90s sack dress, some sort of rayon or synthetic, I’m not sure but it has a really cool weave.

right and wrong sides of the fabric, it looks waffley to me.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: none, but next time I’ll make it a couple inches longer. I want to try out the versions without the center pleat and maybe scallops on the hem (the Colette blog has tutorials for both of those alterations)

Would you sew it again? Yes!… but not right now

Would you recommend it to others? Definitely

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    August 10, 2011 8:35 am

    Love your top and that you repurposed the fabric. Looks fantastic on you!

  2. August 10, 2011 10:44 am

    Love! So versatile!

So, what do you think?

