Skip to content

The Plaid Vest

July 24, 2011
tags: ,
by

He hates having his picture taken, let alone posted on my sewing blog.

This vest was originally supposed to be for a formal event earlier this year for my boyfriend, but I was so crammed for time and motivation this spring that I didn’t even make myself a new dress like I planned. Now it will probably sit in his closet for quite a while, oh well at least the fabric was used for it’s original purpose and it only takes about 2 yards.

There really isn’t a lot to say about this pattern so the review is short.

Pattern: McCall’s 2447

Pattern Description: Vest has front welts, back and back belt are cut of lining fabric; shirt with buttoned front has back pleated to yoke forming forward shoulder seams and cuff variations; lined tie in two lengths and bow tie also included.

Pattern Sizing: S-L, I made a M but that was a little to big even though I had made the vest for him once before and it seemed to fit fine then.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s definitely a formal vest with all the buttons but it fit’s good in general, I’ve never made anything else from this pattern so I can’t attest to the rest of it.

Fabric Used: Black poly lining and black and white plaid wool.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I left off the welt pockets.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I plan on using this pattern for his and the other grooms men’s vests for our wedding next year.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

Now to cut out new projects and start working on my winter coat that I’ve been putting off for way too long.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 8:22 am

    Ooh, you are ambitious! Making vests for the groomsmen. I just sent my husband to Mens Wearhouse to pick out whatever…

So, what do you think?

