Skip to content

Halloween 2011: Quorra

July 13, 2011
by

Obviously it’s kind of early (ok, a lot early), but all the planning for my wedding dress is done (just not sewn or cut out at all, I have a year!) so I need something else to plan and I like my costumes to be as accurate as possible… even if they are always fictional or scifi characters. This year I want to dress as Quorra, the lead female in the new Tron: Legacy movie that came out last year. Originally I wanted to make the only female character from the first Tron movie, Yori/Lori, but Quorra in the new movie is much cooler and her costume will probably be easier to recreate. From IMDb:

The son of a virtual world designer goes looking for his father and ends up inside the digital world that his father, Kevin Flynn, designed. He meets his father’s creation turned bad and a unique ally who was born inside the digital domain of The Grid.

Quorra is the confidante and surrogate daughter of Kevin Flynn, and has been loyally helping him survive his digital exile. She is revealed to be an Isomorphic Algorithm (better known as ISO) which are a race of programs that are self-created; in other words, they were not created by users.

Basically, she’s bad ass and I love Olivia Wilde (the actress who plays Quorra). The costume doesn’t actually look that hard once you start looking at detail screen shots of Quorra from the movie, she’s wearing some very tight stretch pants, a tshirt with the shoulders cut out, a long vest that is almost mini shirt length and some sleeve/glove/arm guard things. The gloves will be the hardest to make I think because I might have to draft my own pattern. When researching and trying to find good detail picture of the movie costume I found some detailed sketches that someone else had already made and she gave me permission to repost the drawings here for reference:

 So here’s how I think I’ll make my version (it won’t be perfectly accurate of course because I don’t professional costume experts or the ability to use latex and body molds): For the vest I’ll use my favorite vest pattern (S4079) and extend the bottom into the shape of the skirt, to imitate the body armor of the vest I’ll just do some cut outs on the sides, raise the neckline a little and add a little collar, and use some reflective safety tape. I’ll probably try to find some sort of synthetic shinny black fabric instead of leather so that it will be easier to sew on my machine. The pants and top are the easy part, just use the t-shirt and leggings pattern from Burda 01/2011. Finally I’ll use V8311 for the gloves and do some fancy manipulating to make them look more like Quorra’s gloves. Here is my sketch:

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 12:43 am

    I can’t wait to see this!

  2. Janette permalink
    July 23, 2011 11:36 am

    Thank you for sharing! I am trying to make this costume without any sewing skills. I’m sure yours will look awesome. I’m not so sure about mine, but I thrive from a challenge.

Trackbacks

  1. I Love Costumes, Therefore I Love Halloween « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

