Skip to content

Before the Blog: Lost in the Desert Dress

July 5, 2011
by

This dress reminds me of the Southwest U.S. with it’s slightly Navajo feel to the fabric. It’s definitely a fall dress though because the cotton feels heavy when it’s all put together in dress form.

Pattern: Simplicity 2403

Fabric: Medium weight cotton

Pattern Description: Miss’s dress has pleated skirt with pockets and princess seamed bodice, collar and sleeve variations.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? For the most part yes, it’s hard to compare a finished dress to the ones on the envelope in the case of “Project Runway” patterns because there are so many variations.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, like all Big 4 patterns it had plenty of drawings along with the instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the bodice and skirt a lot, I’ve been looking for a good shirtwaist dress pattern. But I do not like the sleeves much, I was expecting them to be more straight. Instead they seem really puffy, and the pattern doesn’t have you add a closure for the cuff as far as I can tell in the instructions.

Pattern Sizing: 4-12, I cut a 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Not changes. The variations I chose were the shirtwaist bodice, longer sleeves with cuff, and collar.

Would you sew it again? Probably not, I have since found a better shirtwaist pattern. Although I am intreged by the double breasted bodice, but I would need to find different sleeves.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, It’s not too difficult (especially if you’ve ever made a button-up shirt before) and there are a lot of good variations.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 6:06 am

    I bought my first ‘project runway’ pattern this spring. I live in England, and thought the pattern was expensive – but I haven’t bought any patterns for years.
    Do you think patterns are expensive?

    • July 5, 2011 7:12 am

      Yes I do think patterns are expensive, though in the U.S. many of the fabric/crafting stores have huge sales selling patterns for $.99 or $1.99 so I almost never pay full price. I think the pattern companies often have sales online for $5.

  2. July 5, 2011 12:24 pm

    I really like the fabric. I’ve been drawn to Native American fabrics lately.

  3. July 6, 2011 12:54 am

    I really like that colour on you.

    In the UK patterns are just outrageously expensive, I think. Even the sale prices are way more than the US.

  4. July 8, 2011 9:08 pm

    It looks gorgeous! I love the print, the colours are so rich and warm looking

So, what do you think?

