Skip to content

A Secret Obsession

June 29, 2011
tags:
by

American Girls dolls, well actually doll and doll clothes in general. My favorite being American Girl and Barbie, because that’s what I grew up with but there are some other really cool ones out there. Why am I telling you this? Honestly I had completely forgotten my American Girl doll Molly for many years while I was at college, but then Cidell of Miss Celie’s Pants wrote a post about making some matching doll and girl clothes for her niece. Cidell had never heard of American Girl dolls before, but it imidiatly got me nostalgic for my doll and all the fun I had with her when I was little. On top of that Cidell collected a mountain of doll clothes pattern resources from her readers, many of which were free so I downloaded everything I could find.

"Molly McIntire is growing up during World War Two. She wants the war to end so that her dad can come home from overseas. With her English friend, Emily, at her side, Molly learns the importance of pulling together—just as her country must do to win the war." Can you guess why she was my favorite character and doll?

Why did this suddenly obsess me? Because when I was little, my Molly doll was just a fantastic dream for a long time. Then I started saving up my money to buy the doll myself (these are expensive dolls and I’m still flabbergasted by people who buy they’re daughters multiple dolls and all the clothes and accessories available) then my grandparents surprised me with the doll for my birthday present along with some handmade clothes my grandma had made. The only extra clothes and stuff for my doll I ever had were homemade, unlike my best friend neighbor who had practically everything you could buy to go with her doll. So having a huge closet for my doll is still a little bit of a fantasy to me.

Long story short, I got so excited I started making some of the free patterns, but got worried they were too small and asked my sister to bring my doll up here when she visited a couple weeks later (She also brought up her Samantha doll because since she’s the last kid to move out of the house our mom has mentioned giving some of our treasured toys that we kept in pristine condition to our cousins who are the right age. They would get destroyed if that happened, I’m only worried that I don’t have space yet to take my doll house that my grandma built for me for the same reason. So now I’ve got them for safe keeping in a little suit case). The great thing about these patterns is they only take 1/4 – 1/2 yards of fabric, which I have tons of pieces of leftover fabric in those sizes. I promise I won’t post about doll clothes all the time, but maybe once in a while I’ll show you guys some of the new stuff I’m excited about 😉

This outfit is based on a pattern for the Molly doll's school outfit from 1944. I used the leftover fabric from my macaroon.

For reference, here is what the original store bought outfit is supposed to look like. I lost her glasses a long time ago.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 9:23 pm

    Thanks so much for posting this, it makes me glad I’m not the only 20 something sewing doll clothes here and there!!! I definitely understand what you are talking about!!! 🙂

  2. July 5, 2011 3:15 am

    Very cute!
    I used to make my Barbie clothes, once upon a time. Darn fiddly little things….!

Trackbacks

  1. Fashion Dolls and Tiny Patterns « Toferet's Toy Box
  2. American Girl Minneapolis | Toferet's Toy Box

So, what do you think?

