Skip to content

Wedding Dress Fabric Shopping in Denver, CO

June 27, 2011

Oh man did I have an amazing weekend!

I went with my mom, little sister, and fiance down to Denver, CO to buy fabric for my wedding dress. Before hand we had just done a quick google search to see if there were any good independent stores to go to and the one that looked the best was Allyn’s Bridal & Millinery Supplies near downtown.

Man did they have everything and anything you could possibly want for a special occasion there (for a price) and the service was amazing. We just walked in, after getting lost on all the one way streets, and showed one of the sales women the tiny little swatch of silk that came with my Pippa dress pattern and she was off and running, pulling out all sorts of amazing silk charmeuses of varing shades of white, off white, warm white, etc. I never knew there were so many shades of white! She even helped me pick out the right shade of white to complement my coloring by draping the fabrics over me in front of a mirror and gave me some tips on sewing with such slippery fabric. I ended up with a “warm” white silk charmeuse, slightly on the heavier side for easier sewing, matching bemberg rayon lining, and some really pretty tatted lace trimming. I think the hardest part was picking out the trim, I don’t usually use trim on any of my sewing projects!

Trying to decide on trim

When the sales woman was about to cut out my length of fabric, I only needed 4 yards, we noticed there were marks on some of the fabric like streaks of pencil. She unrolled the whole thing and found exactly 4 yards of clean fabric in the middle and gave us the rest for free, so I got about one yard extra of fabric that costs $65/ yard. No way they would do that at a chain store.

Now I need to buy some cheapo satin to make a muslin of the pattern before I cut into this gorgeous new fabric. I’m glad I bought the fabric so early, I have a whole year to make my dress.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 2:13 pm

    Those trims are beautiful!

  2. June 27, 2011 2:29 pm

    Ooh, that’s exciting!

  3. June 27, 2011 9:16 pm

    Wedding dress fabric shopping is so much fun. I was surprised at all the “whites” too and ended up with a warm white, sort of slightly champagne in tone. You can really see the difference when you compare them to each other and comparing it to your complexion makes a big difference.

    My fabric was marked too but I didn’t discover the marks until I got home 😦 but the shop was great about helping me find a new bolt and checking it for marks.

    And don’t get me started on the trims 😉 I didn’t finally chose mine until about 2 weeks before I had to finish my dress, haha

    Good luck with the cutting and sewing, are you making a trial dress first?

    • June 27, 2011 9:18 pm

      Oh ignore my last question, I just read your final sentence 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing the final result xx

  4. June 29, 2011 12:26 am

    Looks like an amazing store! What a fun day out for you and your ladies, and I’m impressed that your fiance wanted to have anything at all to do with a fabric shop. MIne kept right out of those proceedings… didn’t see anything at all about my dress until the day I walked down the aisle towards him.

  5. June 30, 2011 4:06 pm

    how exciting for you!! you’re dead right to get fabric early so you have plenty of time for muslins and tweaking, you’re going to look amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. My Wedding Dress « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

