Skip to content

Butterfly Swarm Top

June 17, 2011
by

When I cut new project out I usually do it in large groups because I have a set of 10 little drawers that I keep my immediate project queue in. Once I finish a project, a new one goes into the empty drawer and once all the drawers only have uncut projects in them I spend several days just cutting patterns out. This is all because I hate cutting out patterns, it’s boring, time consuming, and makes my back hurt because I don’t have a permanent cutting table only a long folding table. So that’s what I did the last couple days until I ran out of pins and wasn’t able to finish cutting out the rest of the projects. To get back into sewing I started with the easiest project I had cut out – my favorite tank top of all time.

I have at least 6 or 7 versions of this pattern in my wardrobe right now, the oldest being the first one made by my mom that I loved so much I stole from my sister (the original owner) and then stole the pattern and made a bunch more. It’s great because it’s interesting enough to be dressed up with a jacket or skirt and look professional but it can be dressed down also  with jeans because it’s loose cut through the middle and has no closures. I make it mainly out of medium weight cotton, though I have varied, because that’s the best fabric for where I live in the summer (and winter under a cardigan). Unfortunately it’s out of print 😦 so I’m sorry you can’t share in my joy of this pattern.

Pattern: McCall’s 2222, view B

M2222 OOP

Fabric: Cotton

Pattern Description: Pullover top A thru D has gathered upper front; sleeveless top B has neck binding

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I’ve made this one so many times I just take a quick glance at the illustrations then don’t really follow them too closely.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s comfortable and easy to wear, and perfect for the summer time!

Pattern Sizing: 8-10, I make size 10.

(ignore the bad posture)

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I left the side seams for last and sewed them into french seams (my first successful time because I usually get too confused!)

Would you sew it again? Well, yes – again and again and again – every time I think it looks completely different too.

Would you recommend it to others? If you can find a copy, I definitely recommend. I’d call this one of my few TNT patterns.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    I love this top! It’s a very flattering style, I think, and the fabric you chose is very nice.

  2. June 18, 2011 1:09 am

    It’s gorgeous, and the print is very pretty! It is wonderful to have a favourite pattern you can turn to over and over again.

  3. June 18, 2011 3:21 am

    You are so organised to cut out several things at once. Not sure I could cope with a project queue that’s ten deep though! Do you find you rearrange it every so often or do you work through it in order?

  4. June 20, 2011 4:41 pm

    Very pretty!
    You know, I never tried french seams… now that I have an overlock mach idea of a ine I need to even less, but I would LIKE to, I must 🙂
    If you want to try the shrug-pattern I’d appreciate it greatly, I’m interested in feedback on all sizes to know it my idea of correct sizes is just my idea or if other people agree, for example. Let me know if you want it sent over!

  5. June 20, 2011 4:42 pm

    Very pretty!
    You know, I never tried french seams… now that I have an overlock machine I need to even less, but I would LIKE to, I must 🙂
    If you want to try out the shrug-pattern I’d appreciate it greatly, I’m interested in feedback on all sizes to know it my idea of correct sizes is just my idea or if other people agree, for example. Let me know if you want it sent over!

So, what do you think?

