Skip to content

Boring Black Tee

June 14, 2011
by

Well from that title I’m sure you can figure how I feel about this one. It took me forever only because I just wasn’t that excited about it, and then to top it off I’m pretty sure I sewed the front pieces together the wrong way making the neckline much more plunging than it is supposed to be. But I think it’s still wearable, and besides by the time I realized what happened I was nearly done and there was no way I was going back to try and fix it. I’ll just do it right next time, yes I do think this is a good pattern that I’ll make again even though it was boring. If it bother me too much when I wear it I’ll just put a little insert in there to raise the neckline.

Pattern: Burda Top 125, 11/2008

Maybe it is supposed to be low cut... I can't really tell

Fabric: Leftover black cotton jersey, that is one great thing about this pattern – it does not take much fabric at all.

Pattern Description: Send in shirt – sleeves and refined the deep neckline give new impetus to the popular basic. And the piece is so easy to sew!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it would have looked more like the photo/drawing if I hadn’t messed up the front

Were the instructions easy to follow? Not really, but I think it would have helped my cause if I’d made more notes on the pattern pieces themselves when I traced it out. It’s not a hard pattern, just the pieces aren’t very distinct because they’re all basically just geometric shapes so I got confused about which connected where.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s really cute and versatile and sporty all at the same time and it fits really well. But it’s sooo boring to make in a solid color, I definitely need to try it in a print or just a more fun solid.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I traced my usual 36 for Burda tops

hmm, not sure why I always choose picture with my head down. I swear I don't do that all the time, though it is a running joke on campus that engineers only look at the ground when they're walking.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Well it wasn’t really on purpose, but since I didn’t cut any of the pieces on the fold like your supposed to (because I was using up leftovers) I’m pretty sure I sewed the front together the wrong way. I used a zigzag stitch on everything including the hems because I was too lazy to get out my twin needle.

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

~Molly

PS – Today is my birthday!!! And tomorrow is my boyfriends birthday and then the next day will be one year until we get married! I love how convenient it all is lol

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 6:50 am

    You’ll never forget all those important dates! Happy Birthday!
    This is funny because I’ve just cut out the pieces for a plain old black tee. I like your pattern better, though. I’m not too excited about sewing it up but I know it will get lots of wear once I actually make it.

  2. June 14, 2011 7:45 am

    I think we were updating the blog/Burdastyle at the same time!

    Happy Birthday! Go out to celebrate wearing one of those great Rachel Comey skirts of yours, they look fab.

  3. June 15, 2011 12:35 am

    Far from boring, I think it will become a wardrobe staple! And it doesn’t really look too low-cut to me. It is a very flattering neckline!

  4. June 15, 2011 5:08 pm

    happy birthday!!
    i like the tee – great shoulder seam detail 🙂

  5. June 16, 2011 12:42 am

    Happy birthday! I like your t shirt. One of the reasons I wanted to sew was to make things like that – I could never find ones in the shops that were just right.

  6. June 17, 2011 5:05 pm

    I really must make this one – I’ve pondered making it many times. The shoulder lines are so interesting. And black is more useful than boring (:

So, what do you think?

